campus wide alert

Title IX

logo_titleix.gifTitle IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 is one of several federal laws that address discrimination issues. Many people think of Title IX only in the context of athletics, but athletics is just one of 10 areas addressed by the law. Title IX requires colleges/universities that receive federal funds and financial assistance to prohibit discrimination based on gender in all aspects of their education programs and activities.


Welcome from the Administrator
As Catawba College's Title IX Administrator, I am responsible for assisting with and coordinating the campus' efforts in education and prevention of policy violations, programming and training, and investigation of potential policy violations. I work closely with Student Affairs, Human Resources, Academic Affairs, and the President's office. I strongly encourage you to share your ideas and suggestions with me or my Deputy Coordinators.


Your Feedback is Important.
You may call, e-mail, schedule an office visit, or use the Title IX Feedback forms, one is located above, and another is on the CatLink homepage under "Make a Request."

Title IX Administrator

Dr. Erin Wood
Assistant Professor of Psychology ErinWood.jpg
Office: ADM 230
Phone: (704) 637-4104
E-mail: ewood@catawba.edu

Deputy Title IX Coordinators

melissabarnette.jpgMelissa Barnette
Assistant Director of Human Resources
Office: ADM 138
Phone: (704) 637-4116
E-mail: mbarnett@catawba.edu


laurawimpey.jpgLaura Gilland
Director of Student Conduct
Office: CSC 210G
Phone: (704) 637-4114
E-mail: lgwimpey@catawba.edu

Investigators/Committee Members

kimcreamer.jpgDr. Kim Creamer
Assistant Professor of Education
Office: Ket 104
Phone: (704)637-4462
E-mail: kcreamer14@catawba.edu

LarryFarmer.jpgLarry Farmer
Human Resources Officer
Office: ADM 138
Phone: (704) 637-4227
Fax: (704) 637-4289
E-mail: lfarmer@catawba.edu

earlgivens.jpgEarl Givens, Jr.
Library Director / Head of Systems and Technology
Office: Library 119
Phone: (704) 637-4212
E-mail: ebgivens15@catawba.edu

Dr. James W. Hand JimHand.jpg
Associate Professor of Athletic Training
Office: HFC 103
Phone: (704) 637-4455
E-mail: jwhand@catawba.edu

KimSmith.jpgKimberly A. Smith
Director of Catawba to Career (C2C)
Office: ADM 133
Phone: (704)637-4765
E-mail: kasmith@catawba.edu


Latest News