campus wide alert

College News

Ivory Layne and Emma Stoneberg in Concert at Catawba Sept. 20th

September 13, 2013
Category: Events, Music, Students
Catch rising musical star Ivory Layne with Catawba College's own talented popular music student Emma Stoneberg in an evening of original song. The free concert is open to the public and will be held on Friday, September 20 in Catawba's Hedrick Little Theatre beginning at 7:30 p.m. Layne's…
Read More

Mipso Returns to Share Stage with Catawba Roots on August 31

August 22, 2013
Category: Academics, Events, Music, Students
Young roots music sensation Mipso returns to Salisbury for a concert in Catawba College's Hedrick Little Theatre on Saturday evening, August 31. The college's own Catawba Roots will open the show with an encore performance of selections from the "O Brother, Where Art Thou" soundtrack. The special…
Read More

Registration Underway for Catawba College Community Music Fall Classes

August 21, 2013
Category: Academics, Music
Registration is underway for fall classes in Catawba College's Community Music Program. Classes begin the week of September 9 and conclude December 8 with recitals. Jacob Hahn is director of the program that began in 1984 and offers a variety of quality musical experiences including private…
Read More

Catawba Welcomes a New, But Familiar Director of Choral Music

August 5, 2013
Category: Academics, Faculty, Music
Dr. Phillip Burgess, who has served as an adjunct instructor of sacred music in the Catawba College Music Department for the past three years, will step in to serve as the College's Director of Choral Music this academic year. Burgess, well-known in the Salisbury-Rowan community for his role as…
Read More

Catawba Music Professor to Chair Association of Popular Music Education

July 10, 2013
Category: Faculty, Music
Dr. David L. Fish, associate professor of music and chair of the music department at Catawba College, has been elected to serve as chair of the Association of Popular Music Education (APME).   He will serve a two-year term.Other APME officers elected include Cliff Wittstruck, vice chair; Joseph…
Read More