campus wide alert

College News

Catawba's Education Honor Society New Members, Installs Officers

April 21, 2010

Category: Academics, Events, Teacher Education

InductionCatawba College's Theta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KPD) education honor society installed new officers for the 2010-2011 year and inducted 21 new members in a ceremony held at 7:00 p.m. April 13 in the Tom Smith Auditorium on campus.

Dr. James K. Stringfield, dean of the Goodman School of Education and Physical Education, opened the ceremony with welcoming remarks to the inductees, members, and invited guests. Mrs. Pam Rutherford spoke about how new teachers can be effective and can thrive in the teaching profession. KDP officers inducted new members and installed officers in a ritual ceremony. Dr. Rhonda Truitt, counselor for the chapter, presided over the meeting and was assisted by Dr. Lou Ann Kasias, Dr. Tiffany Hunter, Mrs. Amanda Bosch, and current officers Brittany Burleson, president, Stacey Michael, vice president, Mallory Hodge, secretary, Kristen Parry, treasurer, and Kristen Sabia, historian.

New officers installed were Lucy Scott, president; Alexa Baird and Stephanie Hill, co-vice-presidents; Laura Ritchie, secretary; Amanda Pullen and Elizabeth Sloop, co-treasurers; Jenna Matthews, historian; and Philip Yarbrough and Tyler Howe, co-program coordinators.

Inductees included the following:
Undergraduate students –Alexa Baird, Plainfield, N.J.; Stephanie Hill, China Grove; Philip Yarbrough, Lexington; Lucy Scott, Mt. Pleasant; Tyler Howe, Laura Ritchie and Elizabeth Sloop, Salisbury; and Jenna Matthews, Staunton, Va.

Post-baccalaureate Teacher Certification student -  Amanda Pullen, Mechanicsville, Md.

Graduate students – April Spry, Rockwell, and Leigh Yelton, Salisbury.

Graduating seniors inducted and receiving honor cords were Theresa Pierce (M.Ed.), Granite Quarry; Shannon Parker, Advance; Christina Sinclair, China Grove; Courtney Howard, Denton; Deborah Griffin, East Bend; Melody Plott, Kannapolis; and Jennifer Collier, Angela Draeger, Carissa Loflin, and Nanyamka Reid, Lexington.

Graduating KDP members receiving honor cords were Kristen Parry, Kristen Sabia, and Danielle Webb (M.Ed.), Salisbury; Nancy Hamrick, Granite Quarry; Stacey Michael and Brenda Phillips, Lexington; Elizabeth Fields, Thomasville; and Mallory Hodge, Woodleaf.

Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education, was founded March 8, 1911 at the University of Illinois. It was incorporated June 8, 1911. Organized to recognize excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi invites members who exhibit the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards, and promise in teaching and allied professions. The Theta Phi Chapter was installed at Catawba on February 28, 1958, and the chapter was reactivated in 1983.


PhotosPHOTOS: 2010 Kappa Delta Pi Induction