campus wide alert

College News

Catawba's Head Football Coach Included in 2014-15 Leadership Rowan Class

August 22, 2014

Category: Staff

rowanleaders14.jpgRowan County Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the new 2014-15 Leadership Rowan class participants.

Class members for 2014-15 are: D. J. Barksdale (Bank of North Carolina); Curtis Walker (Catawba College); Keith Bowersox (City of Salisbury); Wendy Brindle (City of Salisbury); Jeannette West (CommunityOne Bank); Glenwood Oats, Jr. (Cornerstone Church); Jon Harding (Elium Exterminators); Rori Godsey (F&M Bank); Victoria Curran (Food for Thought of Rowan County); Shane Valley (Food Lion); Teresa Dakins (Home Instead Senior Care); Addison Davis (LandTrust); Deborah Johnson (Livingstone College); Gary Blabon (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center); Heather King (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center); Laurie Ritchie (Novant Health); Ashlee Hawkins (Partners in Learning); Thomas Cobb (NC Cooperative Extension Office); Janet Spriggs (Rowan-Cabarrus Community College); Keri Allman (R3 Center); Mary Burridge (Smart Start Rowan); Ann Pressly (Trinity Oaks); Jon Folstad (VA Medical Center) and Heather Crawford (Wells Fargo Bank).


Class members recently participated in a two-day retreat to begin their leadership class experience.  The class will attend a full-day session each month from September through May to enhance their leadership skills and knowledge of Rowan County.

Leadership Rowan is a leadership development program sponsored by the Rowan County Chamber of Commerce.  Over 400 community members have graduated from the class since 1992. The program is designed to prepare committed and qualified individuals to assume leadership roles in the county and to further enhance the abilities of existing leaders.  Persons completing the program are expected to volunteer their time and talents for community service.

2014 Leadership Steering Committee Chair Dustin Wilson (Chick-fil-A) said, "This program has proven itself many times over.  Graduates of Leadership Rowan can be seen serving in positions of leadership all over Rowan County.  We look forward to another great class."

Members of the Leadership Rowan Steering Committee are: John Wear (Center for the Environment), Tyler Weant (Elium Exterminator Co.), Nick Means (F&M Bank), Joey Williams (Food Lion), Greg Philpott (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center), Natasha Lipscomb (Rowan Cabarrus Community College) and Amy Smith (Rowan County Government).

For more information on applying for next year's class, please contact Linda Sherrill at (704) 633-4221 or