campus wide alert

College News

Education Honor Society Inducts New Members

March 17, 2014

Category: Academics, Evening & Graduate, Teacher Education

kdp2014.jpgCatawba College's Theta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education installed new officers for the 2014-2015 year and inducted 14 new members in a ceremony held at 7:00 p.m. in Tom Smith Auditorium on the campus of Catawba College on February 25, 2014.

Dr. James K. Stringfield opened the ceremony with welcoming remarks to the inductees, members, and invited guests. Dr. Lou Ann Kasias explained the components of the Kappa Delta Pi Creed. KDP officers inducted new members in a ritual ceremony. Dr. Karen Lucas, counselor for the chapter, presided over the meeting and was assisted by Mrs. Amanda Bosch, Dr. Lyn Boulter, Dr. Lou Ann Kasias, Dr. Rhonda Truitt, and current officers Anne Mabry, president; Ricky Martin, vice president; Whitney Short, secretary; Ashley Csirip, treasurer; and Ashley Wietbrock, historian.

New officers installed were Erika Spach, president; Destiny Pearcy, vice president; Paige Smart, secretary; and Jessica Parker, treasurer.

New members inducted and receiving honor cords included the following undergraduate students: Ashley Burkhart, Lexington, NC; Nadine Bogdon, Salisbury, NC; Carmen Grubb, Mocksville, NC; Brad Hamrick, Salisbury, NC; Sydney Hyder, Asheboro, NC; Taylor Lee, Kannapolis, NC; Jessica Parker, Southern Pines, NC; Julia Peck, Salisbury, NC; Destiny Pearcy, Mocksville, NC; Paige Smart, Mocksville, NC, Sydney Smith, Salisbury, NC, and Erika Spach, Lexington, NC. Christine Moore (M.Ed.), Rockwell, NC and April Sanchez-Williamson (M.Ed.), China Grove, NC, were inducted as graduate students.

Kappa Delta Pi, an International Honor Society in Education, was founded March 8, 1911, at the University of Illinois. Catawba College’s Theta Phi Chapter was installed on February 28, 1958. The chapter was reactivated in 1983. Organized to recognize excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi members recognize and honor achievement; strive to a high degree of professional fellowship, leadership, and growth in the field of education; and serve their students and educational community.