campus wide alert

College News

New Members Inducted into Kappa Mu Epsilon, Catawba’s Mathematical Honor Society

May 12, 2014

Category: Academics, Events, Mathematics, Students

Nine new members were inducted into Catawba College’s Zeta Chapter of the mathematics honor society, Kappa Mu Epsilon, on May 6th at a ceremony held in Ketner Hall.

The inductees included Brooke Baumgarten of Hayesville; Jonathon Boles of Salisbury; Nadine Brockmann of Hamburg, Germany; Juliana Conte of Hampton, Ontario; David Emerson of Mooresville; Maria Gurski of Norristown, Pa.; Nathan Hill of Salisbury; Alex Lee of Salisbury; and Olivia Myers of Lexington.

Dr. Jason Hunt, chair and associate professor of mathematics at Catawba, shared remarks entitled “Forbidden Subgraphs of Hamiltonian Graphs.”

Dr. Doug Brown, associate professor of mathematics at Catawba, serves as chapter advisor to the honor society.