campus wide alert

College News

New Members Welcomed to Catawba's Business Advisory Board

October 02, 2008

Category: Business & Economics

Three new members were welcomed at the September 19th semi-annual meeting of the Catawba College Business Advisory Board for the Ralph W. Ketner School of Business.

New members included Cobey Abramowski of Rockwell Farms; Heidi Whitesell of the Community Bank of Rowan; and Susan Cloninger of Cloninger Ford Toyota. Chairman Joey Popp introduced the new members. 

Dr. Craig Turner, president of Catawba College, attended the meeting and spoke to members about the future of the college, indicating his strong support for expanding the Ketner School of Business. Turner also took questions from board members.

Senior Nick Goodman and Professor Pam Thompson, chair of the Ketner School of Business, discussed the possibility of starting a new organization for students which would emphasize business and leadership. Thompson also briefed the board on activities in the Ketner School of Business.

Those gathered heard a presentation on the Ketner School of Business’ China Trip, led by Dr. Jack Green, associate professor of marketing, which occurred this past summer. Also speaking about the trip were board vice chairman Robert Van Geons, board member George Johnson and business major Brad Ross, all of whom took part in it.

The Business Advisory Board also wished its honorary chair, Mr. Ralph W. Ketner, a happy 88th birthday and presented a cake in celebration of that event.

Phil Kirk, Catawba's vice president of external relations, announced that the second annual Business Hall of Fame dinner will be held on November 8.