campus wide alert

College News

Opening Convocation Marks Advent of New Academic Year at Catawba

September 04, 2007

Category: Events, Staff

ConvocationVarious faculty and staff members of the Catawba College community were recognized for their years of service to the institution during fall convocation Thursday, August 30 in Omwake-Dearborn Chapel.  The convocation also marked the official beginning of the College’s 156th academic year, 82 of those years in Salisbury.


30 Years of Service
Ms. Jacqueline Sims, associate professor of library science.

25 Years of Service
Dr. Paul Baker, professor of mathematics; Ms. Linda Hamilton, assistant to the president and assistant secretary of the Board of Trustees; Dr. Lou Kasias, professor of education; Dr. Jesse McCartney, provost; and Ms. Patricia Powlas, assistant bursar.

20 Years of Service
Dr. George Drum, professor of chemistry and biology; Dr. Stephen Hiatt, professor of business; Ms. Melanie McCulloh, director of scholarships and financial aid; and Ms. Penny Rice, administrative assistant for Financial Aid Office.

15 Years of Service
Mr. Tom Childress, senior vice president, and Mr. Rodney Rymer, director of systems and networking.

10 Years of Service
Ms. Tonia Black-Gold, chief communications officer; Mr. Jeff Childress, head coach men’s and women’s tennis and assistant athletic director; Ms. Jan Gillean, assistant dean for campus activities and programs; Ms. Alexandra Henderson, instructor in modern foreign languages; Ms. Lisa Hilliard, assistant to the registrar; Ms. Cindy Most, bookstore manager; Ms. Lori Sipes, director for mail services; Dr. James Stringfield, professor and chair of teacher education; and Ms. Chris Walden, director of development services.

5 Years of Service
Ms. Missy Barnes, assistant professor of theatre arts; Mr. Matthew Barrett, assistant football coach/offensive coordinator; Dr. J. Michael Bitzer, dean of admissions and assistant professor of political science; Ms. Jennifer Cannon, guest house attendant; Ms. Christina Clifton, bookstore textbook manager; Dr. David Fish, associate professor of music; Dr. John B. Green, Jr., associate professor of marketing; Mr. Allen Hinson, chief of operations, office of public safety; Dr. Woodrow Hood, chair and associate professor of theatre arts; Dr. Calvin Hunter, assistant professor of physical education and recreation; Mr. Ricky Joines, assistant coach of women’s basketball; Ms. Brenda Jones, accounts payable clerk; Ms. Carol Julian, administrative assistant for the vice president for finance; Ms. Nancy Mott, administrative assistant for the office of development;  Ms. Sharon Newsome, administrative assistant for the dean of students and the director of housing; Dr. David Schroeder, assistant professor of English; Ms. Karen Setliff, coordinator of recruitment and advising for the School of Evening and Graduate Studies; Dr. James Slate, associate professor of economics; Ms. Jane Snider, administrative assistant in the department of teacher education.

The Length of Service Recognition Program is a project of the College’s Staff Personnel Committee.  Employees are recognized for their service to the College at five-year increments from their hire date.