Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Hour of Code

December 4 (4:30-5:30pm)

Corriher-Linn-Black Library

Category: Special Events

hour-of-code-logo.pngFor the third year, Catawba College’s Professor Pamela Thompson will mark the national “Hour of Code” in her fall 2017 Foundations of Information Systems class, and members of the community are invited to participate. Thompson plans for her class to host an open “Hour of Code” lab in the Corriher-Linn-Black Library on campus between 4:30 and 5:30 p.m. on Monday, December 4.

The “Hour of Code” is a national event promoting coding ( From Dec. 4th through 10th, ten percent of students around the world will celebrate Computer Science Education Week by participating in an Hour of Code event at their school. Individuals who participate will create their own apps or games and Catawba students will guide the activities.  Attendees will receive Hour of Code participation certificates. With short interactive, hands-on activities, students will learn computational thinking skills in an approachable way.

More than 100 million students around the world have tried an Hour of Code. Thanks to the Hour of Code, computer science has been on homepages of Google, MSN, Yahoo!, and Disney. Over 100 partners have joined together to support this movement. Every Apple Store in the world has hosted an Hour of Code, and many world leaders wrote their first lines of code as part of the campaign.

Dr. Kathrine Baker from the Math/Computer Science Department at Catawba will assist with the event.  Students from Dr. Thompson’s Foundations of Information Systems class hosting the event are Caleb Allen, Lewis Baldwin, Jeb Bennett, Philip Bontumasi, Brianna Campos-Lopez, Jaime Cassell, Mikiah Edwards, Ahmed Eltair, Kolby Fisher, Imani Grays, Madalyn Liefert, Liam Lynch, DaQunda Magwood, Hayley Morgan, Joshua Moses, Tyler Mulkey, Jourdan Osinskie, Rodolfo Ramos, Trevor Rhyne, Austin Setzer, Lance Swearingen, Monica Taylor, Abigail Tomlin, and Jacob Younts. 

« Return to Previous