Skip to main content

Sign into the Catawba College community portal:

Login to CatLink

Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

REMAIN AT CATAWBA  |  Take the Pledge  |  Ask a Question

2021 Awards Convocation

April 24, 2021

[How to Buy Photos]

Catawba College congratulates the following students, faculty, and staff on their achievements during the 2020-2021 academic year:

Service to the Community & Leadership Awards

Name of Award



Student Government President's Award


Ali Snider

Announcement of new SGA Officers


President:Trey Germano

Vice Pres: Fikemi Fawehinmi

Treasurer:Leigh Ann Matulis

Secretary: Amira Carter-Cyrus

Mr. Catawba for 2020-21


Brandon Stewart

Ms. Catawba for 2020-21


Kathryn Webb

David Hoyle Award For Outstanding Service in Student Activities


Alana Cooper

The Sara Cook Award for Student Involvement


Holly Kuhn

The Pioneer Award


Ariel Graham

Francis Decker Wentz Award


Jacob Aiton and Daniel Harvey

Dr. Kenneth Clapp Tri-Delta Award


Dr. ChaMarra Saner

Leader in Environmental Stewardship Award


Students-Malachi Gray, Madison Kluge & Nina MacKinnon

President's Award for Community Service


Dr. Jay Bolin

Paul Fisher Service Awards


The Nursing Faculty and Staff

NCICU Ethics Bowl


Noah Brass, Bre Eller, Katie Webb, Nilya Holcomb, Paige Carter, Nicholas Trovato and Dr. Norris Feeney

Nursing Clinical Practice Excellence Award


Kasey Austyn Rowden

Academic Achievement Awards

Name of Award



Sherrill & Smith Award in Accounting


Ben LaFevers

Millard F. Wilson Award for Excellence in Business


Jack Joel

Rebecca H. Frantz Essay Prize


Abbey Birkhead

Bethany and Aidan Sinnott Poetry Award


Jessica Brown

The Martha H. Morehead Award (Arrowhead)


Dustin Sink

Rice, Andrews, Young Award


Adwoa Ofori-Gyau

Elisabeth Scranton History Award


Daniel Harvey

Braun Award in Physics


Julia Southern

Chemistry Prize


Luke Carter

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award


Hannah Dunn and Hunter Sjobom

Mathematics Award


Kaitlin Koons

Environment & Sustainability Award


Sandra Abbey

Shirley L. Haworth Prospective Teacher Award


Shonda McKinney and Gracie Gibson

Student NC Association of Educators/Cynthia B. Osterhus Award


Haley Sloop and Paige Carter

Chairman's Award


Dylan Smith and Savannah Nunn

Roberts Senior Psychology Award


Emily J. Avalos

Bolick Sociology Award


Olivia Danner

Whitley Award


Shemya Stanback

Russell Award


Matthew Habina

Daniel E. Kirk Biology Award


Sydney J. Goertzen

Bruce A. Wentz Philosophy Award


Zachary L. Francis

Religion Award


Leah D. Terraglio

Augustin Daly Award


Madison Dolchan

Dr. Karl E. Hales Communication Award


Maddie Capel and Corey Polk

Paul L. Baker Computer Science Award


Miracle Etim-Andy

Nursing Academic Excellence Award


Madison Kaye Hunter

Awards of Special Merit and Achievement

Name of Award



Dean N. Grove Award


Sydney Goertzen

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards


  (Staffperson)-Teresa Bivins                          (Student)-Oryan Malul

Staff Member of the Year Award


Johnathon Boles

Professor of the Year Award


Dr. ChaMarra Saner

Louise Tucker Staff Council Award


Janet Waggoner

President's Award for Staff Excellence


Steffanie West

Swink Prize for Outstanding Classroom Teaching


Dr. Beth Homan

Trustee Award for Outstanding Contribution to the College


Dr. Doug Brown

Whitener Medals


Oryan Malul and Alberto Borges