Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

New Members Inducted into Tri-Beta Honor Society at Catawba

April 29, 2014

Category: Academics, Biology, Events, Students

logo_tribeta.jpgCatawba College's Tau Eta Chapter of Beta Beta Beta, the national biological honor society, inducted 17 members at its annual induction ceremony on April 17. The inductees will be lifetime members of Tri-Beta.

At the ceremony held in the Center for the Environment on campus, graduating seniors who are members of the society were also recognized and received their honor cords.  Dr. Carmony Hartwig, visiting assistant professor of biology, presented the keynote entitled, "Bad Air: The Malaria Burden."

Members inducted include Christopher Bolick of Asheville; Faron Brazis of Salisbury; Martha Clay of Lansing; Juliana Conte of Hampton, Ontario; Michelle Eisenman of Brunswick, Ohio; Christopher Koehler of Burlington; Adam Kurdi of Chapel Hill; Matthew McConnell of Salisbury; Namrata Pahwa of Salisbury; Abby Pennington of Blacksburg, Va.; Erica Pippen of Durham; Mary Podgorak-Largo of Salisbury; Ashton Pryor of Salisbury; Chia Thao of Salisbury; Tabitha Turenchalk of Sheffield Lake, Ohio; Peter Wesselman of Charlotte; and Amber Williamson of Lexington.

Eight Tri-Beta members received the Buxton Baranski Biology Honors medals for conducting significant biologically related undergraduate research and presenting their work at a regional or national conference.  These students were Olivia Myers of Lexington; Juliana Conte of Hampton, Ontario; Mary Podgorak-Lagro of Salisbury; Frank Villa Hernandez of Salisbury; Linda Castillo-Murillo of China Grove; Thomas Benton of Salisbury; and Martha Clay of Lansing.

New Tri-Beta student leadership entrusted with the society for the 2014-2015 academic year included Paul Fry, president; Titus Hunt, vice-president; Elijah Wittum, secretary; and Johnathan Boles, treasurer.  The faculty advisor for the society is Dr. Jay Bolin, assistant professor of biology.

The Tau Eta Chapter of Tri-Beta was founded at Catawba in 1992.  The society is dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research.

« Return to Previous