Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

55 Catawba Students Pinned and Admitted to Teacher Education Program

October 15, 2010

Category: Academics, Evening & Graduate, Events, Students, Teacher Education

Fifty-five Catawba College students were honored in a formal pinning ceremony held in Omwake-Dearborn Chapel on Wednesday, October 13. For those students pinned, the event marked their admission into the Teacher Education Program at Catawba College.

Ms. Julie Stolze, Rowan-Salisbury Teacher of the Year presented the program for the early evening event, which was followed by a reception at the Peeler Crystal Lounge, sponsored by Debbie Suggs Catering. The ceremony was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE).

Admission to a Teacher Education Program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics; establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average; and an interview. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those who were pinned during the ceremony included  from the Traditional Day Program at Catawba:  Jennifer Bailey, Salisbury; Tammy Tutterow, China Grove;  Taylor Doss, Booneville;  Lainey Edwards, Asheboro;  Kaitlin Foster, Shoreham, N.Y.; Rachel Fries, Rockwell;  Julie Gilley, Dobson; Alanna Hantho, Great Falls, Va.; Rachel Barbee, Salisbury; Josh Weaver, Cleveland; Erin Blackburn, Denver; Lauren West, Salisbury; Jaclyn Chapman, Leonardtown, Md.;  Ashley Wheeler, Charlotte; Jessica Clark, Salisbury; Allison Wright, Wytheville, Va.;  Megan Courson, Statesville; Philip Yarbrough, Lexington; Marissa DiMarco, Voorhees, N.J.;  Kathleen Zielinski, Erie, Pa.; Bridgett Henderson, Statesville; Melanie Hudson, Greensboro;  Kortney Kavanagh, Shoreham, N.Y.; Cory Kluttz, China Grove;  Samantha Lackey, Seville, Ohio; Tangela Linn, Rockwell; Marsha Meeks, Kings Mountain; Brent Messenger, Kannapolis;  Sarah Moore, Mocksville; Sarah Morse, North Berwick, Maine; Lyle Naber, Melbourne, Fla.; Josh Reinsvold, Mocksville; Alyssa Retundie, Mooresville; Stephanie Riddle, Faith; Matthew Tamer, Winston-Salem; and Maryann Sherrill, Salisbury.

From Catawba's Birth-Kindergarten Program in the School of Evening and Graduate Studies: Lori Anderson, Locust; Sara Burkhart, Lexington; Esther Butler, Kannapolis; Myra Cannon, Concord; Sabrina Disher, Statesville; Anthony Dudas, Salisbury; Janet Foster, Salisbury; Kelli Gallimore, Thomasville; Vickie Gammons, Mocksville; Donna Girty, Salisbury; Latonya Graham, Statesville; Lauren Kepley, Lexington; Amanda May, Lexington; Erin Parsons, Lexington; Janet Purrington, Salisbury; Jennifer Smith, Concord; Jamie Stirewalt, Kannapolis; Melinda Thorneburg, Spencer; and Jodi Walker, Advance. Linda Kesler of Salisbury, assistant professor of theatre arts at Catawba, was also pinned as the newest member of the Teacher Education Faculty.

Faculty advisor for the SNCAE organization is Mrs. Amanda Bosch. SNCAE officers for the 2010 - 2011 academic year include Julie Gilley of Dobson, President; Danielle Garzon of Raleigh, Vice President; Brittany Myers of Shelby, Secretary; Sarah Morse of North Berwick, Maine, Treasurer; Elizabeth Sloop of Salisbury, Senior Class Representative; Brent Messenger of Kannapolis, Junior Class Representative; Lizzle Davis of East Bend, Sophomore Class Representative; and Amber Strickland of Mooresville, Freshman Class Representative.


PhotosPHOTOS: Teacher Education Pinning Ceremony and Reception



« Return to Previous