Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba College 2011-2012 Athletic Award Winners Announced

May 2, 2012

Category: Athletics, Events, Students

Athletic Awards

Catawba College has announced its 2011-12 athletic award winners for its student-athletes. The awards were presented at the annual athletic ceremony held at the Keppel Auditorium on Tuesday, May 1. Heading the list of award winners were Braden Artem and Dana Hicks, who were awarded the Kirkland and Lomax Awards for the top female and male senior athletes, and Steffi Cook and Jeb Bass, who were given the Wurster Awards for team leadership.

Artem, a lacrosse player from Acton, Ontario, CANADA, was named the Kirkland Award winner. He was a two-time All-Deep South Conference performer and the 2011 DSC Tournament MVP. A four-year starter, Artem set school marks for goals in a game (8), season (45) and career (154).

Hicks, of York, SC, who played basketball, earned the Lomax Award. She was a three-time All-South Atlantic Conference selection and the 2012 SAC Player of the Year. She also earned All-America honors as a senior in helping Catawba return to regional play for the first time in eight years. She became just the second female to finish with over 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds.

Cook, a tennis player from Alpharetta, GA, and Bass, a football player from Newton, NC, were the recipients of the Wurster Awards for leadership. Cook was cited as one of the hardest working tennis players, always willing to do more and never gave up. Bass worked his way from a walk-on to a scholarship player and then helped coach as a senior when an injury ended his season. Women's soccer player Marissa DiMarco, of Voorhees, NJ, was awards the Darris Morris "Ironhorse" Comeback Award after overcoming compartment syndrome.

Alli Justice, of Bishopville, MD, and Yakir Malul, of Rishon Le-Zion, ISRAEL, were the recipients of the SAAC Award for the highest cumulative GPA's for seniors. Justice, a communications major that plays softball, posted a 3.96 grade point. Malul, a swimmer, had a 3.72 GPA while majoring in business. The men's cross country took the team award with a 3.48 GPA.          

The awards for team MVPs went to: Brett Underwood (Baseball), Keon Moore (Men's Basketball), Dana Hicks (Women's Basketball), Olivia Myers and Christian Crifasi (Cross Country), Lakeem Perry (Football), Matt Hardman (Men's Golf), Madison Kennedy (Women's Golf), Braden Artem and Freddie Turcio (Men's Lacrosse), Ebony Mills (Women's Lacrosse),   Evan Harvey (Men's Soccer), Lindsay Webster (Women's Soccer), Tara Gibbs and Brittany Murray (Softball), Katia Kruglov (Women's Swimming), Magnus Lundgren (Men's Swimming), Alex Macdonald (Men's Tennis), Sloan Kessler (Women's Tennis), Kaitlyn Whitmer (Volleyball), Elizabeth Davis (Cheerleading), Lindsay Smith (Athletic Training) and Steffi Cook (Sports Information).


PhotosPHOTOS: 2012 Athletic Awards

InfoCatawba Athletics


« Return to Previous