Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College Faculty and Students Attend N.C. Academy of Science Annual Meeting

April 3, 2006

Category: Academics, Faculty, Students

Catawba College students and a faculty member attended and participated in the 103rd annual meeting of the N.C. Academy of Science held March 24-25 at Bennett College for Women in Greensboro.

Senior Richard Bergeron of Florence, N.J., an environmental science major, presented a paper in the botany section of the meeting titled "An investigation of tree lean in Oxydendrum arboretum L" and won a third place research award for his efforts. Senior Michelle Haynes of Rockwell, a chemistry major, presented a paper in the chemistry section titled "A laboratory experiment on electrophilic aromatic substitution and the rate of bromination."  Bergeron is advised by Dr. Michael Baranski, professor of biology, while Haynes is advised by Dr. Carol Miderski, professor of chemistry.

Junior Amanda Moore of Toano, Va., an environmental science major, completed a term as vice president of the Collegiate Academy and was elected president of the Collegiate Academy for upcoming academic year.

Baranski completed his term as past-president and chair of the nominating committee of the N.C. Academy of Science. Dr. Joe Poston, assistant professor biology, although unable to attend the meeting, was elected to a three-year term on the Academy's Board of Directors.

Other students attending the meeting included juniors Erica Mitchell of Wilmington, Del., and Derek Rodgers of Glen Burnie, Md., both environmental studies majors.

« Return to Previous