Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba College Honor Society Inducts New Members

October 3, 2007

Category: Academics, Events, Students

Alpha ChiCatawba College's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi, the national college honor society, held an initiation ceremony for candidates Friday, Sept. 28 in Omwake-Dearborn Chapel on campus.

The organization's 2007-2008 president, senior Meagan Kittle of Winchester, Ontario, officiated, assisted by faculty sponsor Dr. Bethany S. Sinnott, a professor of English, and faculty advisors Dr. Cynthia Osterhus, assistant professor of teacher education, and Dr. Maria Vandergriff-Avery, associate professor of sociology. Dr. Andrew Vance, professor of modern foreign languages, delivered the homily for the ceremony, "So Many Stories, So Much History..."

Candidates initiated into the organization include seniors Samuel Louis Brooks of Seaford, Va.; Hillary Elizabeth Hampton of Salisbury; Ashleigh Susanna Herndon of Conway, S.C.; Daniel Scott Hines of Yorktown, Va.; Julia Caroline McKinzie of Lakeway, Texas; and Paul Christopher Norris of Salisbury. Juniors initiated include Allan R. Autry of Fayetteville; Kenzie Madeline Elyse Brogden of Wilmington; Justin Tyler Lewis of Knoxville, Tenn.; K. Michael Pierce Matthias of Georgetown, Del.; Paul Christian Saylor of Isle of Palms, S.C.; and Ryan Adam Taccarino of Marmora, N.J.

Catawba's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi was founded in May 1978 with the induction of 13 members. To date, 535 members have been inducted. Alpha Chi inducts no more than the top 10 percent of juniors and seniors from all academic fields. Founded in 1922, the society has active chapters at more than 300 colleges and universities in 45 states and Puerto Rico.




« Return to Previous