Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba College Names Two New Members to Board of Trustees

February 7, 2020

Category: Alumni, Staff

The Catawba College Board of Trustees has named two new members to its board, according to an announcement by Bill Graham, Chairman of the Board.

They are Gary Blabon of Salisbury, interim President and Chief Operating Officer of Novant Health Rowan Medical Center, and Gerald “Gerry” Francis of Burlington, former Executive Vice President and Provost of Elon University.




Brien Lewis, President of Catawba, said that he was delighted that “these two outstanding leaders in their respective fields with be sharing their expertise and insights to help move Catawba forward.”

Graham said that the two new members will bring depth to the board in their areas of expertise.

Blabon is a 1991 graduate of Catawba, earning a degree in sports medicine.  He also earned a Master of Healthcare Administration from Pfeiffer University. He has devoted most of his professional career to healthcare administration.  He is currently the Chair of the Rowan County Chamber of Commerce.  He is originally from South Florida, but he has lived in Salisbury since attending Catawba.

Francis, now a consultant with Credo Higher Education Consultants, devoted his professional career to higher education, including serving as a faculty member and as an academic administrator. He received undergraduate and graduate degrees from Appalachian State University. He earned a Ph.D. in mathematics from Virginia Tech.

Members of the Board of Trustees include William M. Graham, Chair; Robert B. Arnold, Vice Chair; Michael S. Bauk, Secretary; Thomas E. Burdette, Treasurer; Darlene L. Ball, Immediate Past Chair; C. Shuford Abernethy, III, Gregory M. Alcorn, Mark G. Alexander, Gwin Carter Barr, Daniel T. Bross, Tom Burdette, Sara D. Cook, Nancy Foster Councill, Dr. Randall S. Crumpler, Raymond Daniels, Thomas Stokes Dennard, Bart Edge, Pamela Huffman Falls, Dolan Hubbard, Yakir Malul, Barbara L. Marshall, Deborah Williams Messinger, Richard J. Seiwell, Fred J. Stanback, Jr., Lee B. Syria, Charles D. Taylor, Jr., Mona L. Wallace, and Sally Whitney.

« Return to Previous