Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College Presents "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying!"

April 5, 2007

Category: Academics, Events, Theatre Arts

Power, sex, ambition, greed — it's just another day at the office portrayed in Catawba College Theatre Arts' production of "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying!" The musical will be offered at 7:30 p.m. Thursday through Saturday, April 19-21 and at 2 p.m. Sunday, April 22 in Keppel Auditorium of the Robertson College-Community Center on campus.

"How to Succeed" is a vivacious satire on sharp-practice and ruthless ambition in the world of big business based on Shepherd Mead's 1952 self-help joke book of the same name. The writer and composer of "Guys and Dolls," Frank Loesser, put together to stage version and composed the score which includes snappy numbers like "Coffee Break," "A Secretary is Not a Toy," "Been a Long Day," "Brotherhood of Man" and "I Believe in You."   When it opened on Broadway in 1961, the show won seven Tony Awards and the 1962 Pulitzer Prize for drama.

The musical traces the rise of J. Pierrepont Finch, with the aid of his bible, from window-cleaner to chairman of the board at Worldwide Wickets. All along his climb up the corporate ladder, Finch breaks hearts and stabs colleagues in the back. He eventually reaches a point where his life-changing self-help book, "How to Succeed," offers no clues on how to proceed and Finch must rely on his own ideas and wits to salvage his job.

"How to Succeed" is directed by Catawba College Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts Missy Barnes. Cast members include senior Michael Lasris of Seaford, Va., as J.P. Finch; senior Jared Wietbrock of Grayson, Ga., as Bud Frump; junior Betsy Foster of Baltimore, Md., as Rosemary; sophomore Cecilia Runge of Milford, N.J., as Smitty; senior David Loehr of Charlotte as J.B. Biggley; senior Jessica Moretti of Charlotte as Hedy LaRue; sophomore Michael Matthias of Georgetown, Del., as Twimble; sophomore Meghan McLaughlin of Owings Mills, Md., as Miss Jones; senior Joe Castillo of San Antonio, Texas, as Wally Womper; junior Sara "Minnie" Scronce of Newton as Miss Krumbholtz; sophomore Tony Mullins of Charlotte as Bratt; freshman Landon Beaty of Fort Payne, Ala., as Jenkins; junior Sonny Kong of Matthews as TV Announcer; senior Jake Krickhan of Hendersonville as Tackaberry; senior Nik Kear of Gatlinburg, Tenn., as Gatch; junior Daniel Hines of Yorktown, Va., as Ovington; junior Jared Kenish of Glassboro, N.J., as Toynbee; sophomore Justin Duncan of Raeford as Johnson and the Policeman; sophomore Jordan Ellis of Shelby as Peterson; freshman Brantley Hathcock of Gibsonville as Matthews; senior Lisa Ponce of Tolland, Conn., as the First Scrubwoman/Secretary; senior Danielle Papet of Glassboro, N.J., as the Second Scrubwoman/Secretary; senior Jessica Taige of Wauwatosa, Wis., as Dance Captain; freshman Brianne Davis of Waxhaw as pirate dancer; and senior Lydia Price of Boynton Beach, Fla., junior Ashleigh Herndon of Conway, S.C., sophomore Claire Alston of Kernersville, freshman Jenna Brynn Melgar of Abingdon, Va., freshman Brianne Davis of Waxhaw, freshman Eleanor Withrow of Abingdon, Md., and freshman Caitlin Springs of Santa Clara, Calf., as Secretaries.

Crew members include Catawba Theatre Arts Professor David Pulliam, set designer; senior Joey Yow of High Point, lighting designer; senior Lauren Connolly of Moon Township, Pa., stage manager; junior Miranda Smith of Salisbury and junior Daniel Hines of Yorktown, Va., assistant stage managers; freshman Meghan Schneider of Berlin, Conn., rehearsal stage manager; senior Alysha Perez of Waldorf, Md., assistant director; senior Meredith Fox of Elon as choreographer, dramaturg and publicity; junior Sam Brooks of Seaford, Va., costume designer; sophomore Kelly Barry of Alpharetta Ga., costumer's assistant; senior Jessica Pruett-Barnett of Georgetown, Del., and junior Sheldon Rogers of Waxhaw, wardrobe; freshman Ross Ervin of China Grove, technical preparatory and running crews; senior McKenna Dabbs of Nashville, Tenn., hair and makeup designer; senior Ellen Hindman of Spartanburg, S.C., charge scenic artist; junior Brianna Smith of Austin, Texas, light board operator; freshman Yolanda Kay McClure of Eden, spotlight operator; junior Corey Burckhalter of Elma, N.Y., technical assistant; senior Kaitlyn Gemmell of Gainesville, Fla., master electrician; sophomore Justin Lewis of Knoxville, Tenn., lead electrician; sophomore Emilie Kuhar of Gaithersburg, Md., lead scenic charge; junior Jon Jordan of Virginia Beach, Va., master carpenter; and senior Giuseppe Ritorto of   Greensboro, assistant musical director. Laurie Klaus of Salisbury, a staff member in Catawba's music department, is serving as musical director for the production.

"How   to Succeed" is a musical that offers fun and excitement for all but the youngest members of the family. Tickets are $10 for adults and $8 for students and senior citizens. Group rates are available. Contact the Catawba College Box Office at (704) 637-4481 for more details.  

« Return to Previous