Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College is closely monitoring the outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 and will provide ongoing updates at
UPDATED: 5/27/20 - 4:04 p.m.

Catawba College Representatives Attend Honor Society Convention & Catawba Student Wins Scholarship

April 6, 2009

Category: Academics, Students



Catawba College's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi, a national college honor scholarship society, was recently represented at the Alpha Chi national convention held April 2-4 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Omicron Chapter President Kenzie Brogden, a senior from Wilmington, N.C., and Faculty Sponsor Dr. Bethany Sinnott represented the Catawba chapter. Brogden made a presentation entitled "Painting Women: An Investigation of Italian Female Painters from 1500 to 1700."  Dr. Sinnott, who has worked with the Catawba chapter since its founding in 1978, received a 30-year service pin. The Omicron Chapter received a Star Chapter Award, an honor achieved by no more than 15% of the chapters in the country.



Winner of this year's Alfred H. Noell National Scholarships were announced during the convention and a Catawba College junior, Cyle Petersen of Campbell River, British Columbia, was among the 10 recipients selected from over 300 Alpha Chi chapters in the country. This is the second year in a row that a Catawba College student has been selected to receive such a scholarship; Catawba senior Justin Lewis of Luttrell, Tenn., was the scholarship recipient in 2008.

Catawba's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi was founded in May 1978 with the induction of 13 members. Alpha Chi inducts no more than the top 10 percent of juniors and seniors from all academic fields. Founded in 1922, the society has active chapters at more than 300 colleges and universities in 45 states and Puerto Rico.


PhotosPHOTOS: Alpha Chi Inducts New Members (Fall 2008)

NewsNational Honor Society at Catawba College Inducts New Members



« Return to Previous