Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba College's Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society Holds Induction and Officer Installation

April 21, 2008

Category: Academics, Evening & Graduate, Events, Students, Teacher Education

Catawba College's Theta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi education honor society installed new officers and co-officers for the 2008-2009 year and inducted 17 new members in a ceremony held April 1 in the Tom Smith Auditorium on the campus.  

Drs. James K. Stringfield and Lou Ann Kasias, both members of Catawba's Teacher Education Department, opened the ceremony with welcoming remarks to the inductees, members and invited guests. Dr. Stringfield noted that Theta Phi Chapter was celebrating its 50th anniversary and recognized Dr. Martha Kirkland West '59 as one of the chapter's first inductees as well as the chapter's first president. Dr. Shirley Ritchie '52 was also recognized for her role in revitalizing the chapter in 1983 while serving as a member of the College's Teacher Education Department. Mr. Phil Kirk, vice president for external relations, introduced Mr. Bob Ingram, vice president of GlaxoSmithKline who was the keynote speaker.

Kappa Delta Pi officers inducted new members and officers in a ritual ceremony. Dr. Rhonda Truitt, counselor for the chapter, presided over the meeting and was assisted by co-counselor Amanda Bosch, Drs. Lou Ann Kasias and Cynthia Osterhus, and current officers Amy Stokes of Salisbury, N.C., president, Andrew Howe of Salisbury, N.C., vice president, Kim Starnes of Mooresville, N.C., secretary, Amber Stanley of Salisbury, N.C., treasurer, and Cindy Waller of Salisbury, N.C., historian.

New officers and co-officers installed were Brittany Burleson of Salisbury, N.C., president; Jennifer Layton of Bridgeton, N.J., vice-president; Kalin Collier of Rural Hall, N.C., secretary; Savanna Farris of Rockwell, N.C., treasurer; Melissa Powers of Bennett, N.C., and Teresa Weddington of Salisbury, N.C., historians.

Inductees included the following:  

Undergraduate students – Brittany Burleson, Salisbury, N.C.; David Bloom, Marietta, Ga.; Kalin Collier, Rural Hall, N.C.; Allannah Irwin, Hershey, Pa.; Savanna Farris, Rockwell, N.C.; Jennifer Layton, Bridgeton, N.J.; and Melissa Powers, Bennett, N.C.

Post-baccalaureate Teacher Certification student and 2005 Catawba College graduate -   Brian Messenger, Kannapolis, N.C.

Graduate students – Kimberly Miller and Pamela Rutherford , Salisbury, N.C., and Amy Pruitt, Linwood, N.C.

Faculty – Dr. Bonita Bloodworth, Salisbury, N.C.

Graduating seniors inducted and receiving honor cords were Hillary Hampton, Alyssa Florida, and Mary McBroom, Salisbury, N.C.; Jonathan Kennedy, Mount Ulla, N.C.; Debra Stanley, Mocksville, N.C.; Shane Timmons, Denton, N.C.; Glenda Weaver, Kannapolis, N.C.; Ella Frazier (M.Ed.), Linwood, N.C. and Elizabeth Dunkman, Festus, Mo.

Graduating KDP members receiving honor cords were Henry Fairley, Salisbury, N.C.; Sarah Reeves, Pilot Mountain, N.C.; Christine Ofslager, Midlothian, Va.; and Emily Morgan, Norfolk, Va.

Kappa Delta Pi, an International Honor Society in Education, was founded March 8, 1911, at the University of Illinois. It was incorporated June 8, 1911. Organized to recognize excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi invites members who exhibit the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards, and promise in teaching and allied professions. The Theta Phi Chapter was installed on February 28, 1958. The chapter was reactivated in 1983.




« Return to Previous