Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba College's Kappa Delta Pi Inducts New Members, Installs Officers

April 8, 2011

Category: Academics, Events, Students, Teacher Education

InductionCatawba College's Theta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) education honor society installed new officers for the 2011-2012 year and inducted 22 new members in a ceremony held on campus Tuesday, April 5.

Dr. James K. Stringfield, dean of the Goodman School of Education, opened the ceremony with welcoming remarks to the inductees, members, and invited guests.  Dr. Tiffany Hunter, a professor of education, spoke about the expectations of a teacher from the perspective of a parent, praising the inductees for demonstrating high ideals, and charging them to be leaders in the teaching profession.

Dr. Rhonda Truitt, counselor for the chapter, presided over the induction ceremony, assisted by Dr. Bonita Bloodworth, Mrs. Amanda Bosch, Dr. Tiffany Hunter, Dr. Lou Ann Kasias, Dr. Cyndi Osterhus, and current officers Lucy Scott, president; Alexa Baird and Stephanie Hill, co-vice presidents; Laura Ritchie, secretary; Elizabeth Sloop, treasurer; Jenna Matthews, historian; and Philip Yarbrough, program coordinator. New officers installed were Julie Gilley, president; Jessica Everett and Stephanie Riddle, co-vice presidents; Taylor Doss, secretary; Jessica Clark, treasurer; and Rachel Fries, historian.

KDP officers inducted new members including undergraduate students –Jessica Clark, Salisbury; Marissa DiMarco, Voorhees, N.J.; Taylor Doss, Boonville; Jessica Everett, Winston-Salem; Rachel Fries, Rockwell; Julie Gilley, Dobson; and Stephanie Riddle, Faith.  Also inducted were post-baccalaureate teacher certification student - Lauren West, Salisbury; and graduate students – Melissa Bishop, Lexington; Gina Frey, Concord; and Jennifer Tuzenew, Richfield.

Graduating seniors inducted and receiving honor cords were Rebecca Byerly (M.Ed.) and Sara Burkhart, both of Lexington; Sara Kull (M.Ed.), Concord; Jaclyn Chapman, Meredith Corl, Ann Howell and Zach Poole, all of Salisbury; Lainey Edwards, Asheboro; Laura Sale, Yadkinville; Blair Sanders, Mt. Pleasant; and Jamie Stirewalt, Kannapolis.

Graduating KDP members receiving honor cords were Alexa Baird, Plainfield, N.J.; Stephanie Hill, China Grove; Philip Yarbrough, Lexington; Lucy Scott, Mt. Pleasant; April Spry (M.Ed.), Rockwell; Tyler Howe, Laura Ritchie, Elizabeth Sloop, and Leigh Yelton (M.Ed.), all of Salisbury; and Jenna Matthews, Staunton, Va.

Kappa Delta Pi, an International Honor Society in Education, was founded March 8, 1911, at the University of Illinois. It was incorporated June 8, 1911, and is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year.  Organized to recognize excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi invites members who exhibit the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards, and promise in teaching and allied professions.  The Theta Phi Chapter was installed on February 28, 1958. The chapter was reactivated in 1983.


PhotosPHOTOS: Kappa Delta Pi Induction



« Return to Previous