Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba Education Students Participate in Pinning Ceremony

October 10, 2008

Category: Academics, Events, Students, Teacher Education

Catawba College Students Participate in Students of North Carolina Association of Educators' Pinning Ceremony

Pinning CeremonyThirty-seven Catawba College students were honored in a pinning ceremony October 9 in Tom Smith Auditorium for their admission to the Teacher Education Program. The ceremony was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators' (SNCAE).

Dr. Shirley L. Haworth, past chair of the Department of Teacher Education and professor emerita of Education, was honored during the ceremony. Her colleagues in the Department of Teacher Education chose to name the annual student teaching award in her honor as the Shirley L. Haworth Prospective Teacher Award. Dr. Lou Kasias, professor of education, made remarks about Dr. Haworth's many contributions to the Department of Teacher Education prior to the presentation.

Leigh Marcischak, formerly of Houston, Pa., gave a reflection from the perspective of a new teacher. Ms. Marcischak graduated from Catawba College in May, 2007 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education and is currently in her second year of teaching at Granite Quarry Elementary School.

MarcischakAdmission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics; establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average; and an interview. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those pinned during the ceremony included Ryann Baker of Rockwell; Angela Brinkley of Lexington; Abby Brown of Lula, Ga.; Brittany Burleson of Salisbury; Hunter Carnes of Salisbury; Sandy Ciborowski of Woodbine, Md.; Kristen Collins of Salisbury; Emily Cotton of Linwood; Christopher Cox of Statesville; Daniel Crosby of China Grove; Kelly Dooley of Lexington; Kathryn Earl Etters of Salisbury; Elizabeth Fields of Thomasville; Kathy Fincher of Kannapolis; Kathryn Geouge of Canton, N.C.; Christina Heiner of Mocksville; Claire Hillard of Salisbury; Mallory Hodge of Woodleaf; Lisa Lentz of Kannapolis; Stacey Michael of Lexington; Kristen Parry of Salisbury; Adam Peeler of China Grove; Brenda Phillips of Lexington; Clarence Pickard, III of Mooresville; Susan Pugh of Linwood; Kristy Ray of Salisbury; Spring Roseman of Salisbury; Natasha Sherrald of Salisbury; Kelly Stanley of China Grove; Nicole Taccarino of Marmora, N.J.; Eric Thornton of Simpsonville, S.C.; Jennifer Todd of Charlotte; Alexsandra Turchin of Salisbury; Sarah Van Buskirk of Lutz, Fla.; Leslie Weisiger-Williams of Salisbury; Casey Wolfe of Lexington; and SarahWorley of Thomasville. Dr. Bonita Bloodworth of Salisbury, assistant professor of Teacher Education and assistant director of the Shirley Peeler Ritchie Academy for Teaching at Catawba, was also pinned as the newest member of the Teacher Education faculty.

Faculty advisors for the SNCAE organization are former North Carolina Teacher of the Year Dr. Cynthia Osterhus and Mrs. Amanda Bosch. SNCAE officers for the 2008-2009 academic year include Elizabeth Fields of Thomasville, president; Elizabeth Sloop of Salisbury, vice president; Laura Ritchie of Salisbury, secretary-treasurer; Jennifer Layton of Bridgeton, N.J., past president and senior class representative; Kristen Collins of Salisbury, junior representative; Stephanie Hill of China Grove, sophomore representative; and Katie Walter of Norwood, freshman representative.

Students and their guests were invited to a reception in the Delhaize Atrium immediately following the ceremony.


PhotosPHOTOS: Pinning Ceremony (Fall 2008)



« Return to Previous