Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba Employees Recognized at Opening Convocation

August 28, 2009

Category: Events, Faculty, Staff

Fall Convocation 2009Catawba College kicked off its 158th academic year with an opening convocation held Thursday, August 27 in Omwake-Dearborn Chapel. The event marked the second full year at the institution for Catawba's 21st president, Dr. W. Craig Turner, and was an occasion to recognize some college employees for their years of service.
Turner encouraged faculty, staff and students to turn their attention to developing some A's:   aims, positive attitudes and adaptability. "Develop aims. Cultivate a sense of purpose. Maintain a positive attitude. Contribute solutions to problems," Turner said. "Be adaptable. Develop lifelong learning skills."   (View transcript of Dr. Turner's convocation remarks)
As is customary, the Catawba College Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Paul Fisher, brought greetings on behalf of the trustees. He admonished students to savor every moment of their college experience.    
The College Employees Length of Service Recognition Program is a project of the College's Staff Personnel Committee, now the Staff Council. Employees are recognized for their service to the College at five-year increments from their hire date.
Dr. Turner made the awards, assisted by Dr. Rick Stephens, provost, and Professor David Pulliam, college marshal.
Employees Recognized40 Years of Service
Dr. Bethany Sinnott, professor of English;
35 years of service
Dr. Michael Baranski, professor of biology;
25 years of service
Dennis Davidson, director of athletics; William Haggerty, head cross country coach and assistant men's basketball coach; and Geraldine Mitchell, manager of custodial services;
20 Years of Service
Dr. Sheila Brownlow, professor of psychology; Robert Casmus, head athletic trainer and physical education instructor; Dr. Julie Chamberlain, associate professor of music; Dr. Kenneth Clapp, chaplain, senior vice president, and director of the Lilly Center;   Ginger Hamric, head volleyball coach and physical education instructor; Sandra Owen, custodian; and Sylvia White, business office cashier;
Watch Video15 Years of Service
Dr. Gary Freeze, professor of history; Dr. Carol Ann Miderski, professor of chemistry; Jim Gantt, head coach baseball; Dr. Timothy Moreland, associate professor of communication arts; Nanette Whitley, assistant athletic director/senior woman's administrator, and head coach woman's softball; and Dr. John Zerger, professor of mathematics;
10 Years of Service
James Allison, custodian; Howard Collins, painter – maintenance; Michael Eden, Jr., assistant athletic trainer and physical education instructor; Sharon Miller, controller; Michael Overcash, maintenance technician; Cynthia Wittum, communication arts instructor; and Jane Young, coordinator of admissions records;
5 Years of Service
Carl Lynn Beaver, maintenance technician; Taft Brown, maintenance technician; Richard Darr, business process improvement programmer/analyst; Dr. Carla Eastis, assistant professor of sociology; Keith Engwall, assistant librarian; Constance Grant, assistant librarian; Henry Haywood, director of facilities; Sandra Haywood, administrative assistant to facilities; Eric Nianouris, director of major gifts and planned giving; Kimberly Smith, administrative assistant to the provost; Douglas Stanley, programmer/analyst; Linda Watson, switchboard operator; William White, Jr., maintenance technician; and Dee Woodie, administrative assistant for the dean of students

View Program

PhotosPHOTOS: Fall 2009 Opening Convocation

VideoVIDEO: Highlights from Opening Convocation

InfoPresident Turner's Convocation Remarks: "Three A's"  (PDF)

InfoSGA President Kevin Flebbe's Remarks  (PDF)

InfoEvent Program  (PDF)

InfoGreen Pig Launched at Catawba College



« Return to Previous