Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Catawba Nets Award Nominations from Metrolina Theatre Association

September 4, 2013

Category: Academics, Faculty, Students, Theatre Arts

Once on This IslandPast and present members of the Catawba College Theatre Arts Department — students, alumni and faculty — are among the award nominees in the 2012-2013 season of Metrolina Theatre Awards (MTA). The 10th annual Awards Ceremony is scheduled Sunday, October 6 at the Omni Charlotte Hotel at 132 East Trade Street in downtown Charlotte.

"It is a real honor to be recognized with so many Metrolina Theatre Association nominations in such a diverse range of categories," said Professor Christopher D. Zink, chair of Catawba's Department of Theatre Arts. "The range of nominations exemplifies how well-rounded our Catawba College Theatre Arts program is. The faculty of the Catawba College Department of Theatre Arts would like to congratulate the students, faculty, and staff who made our previous theatre season worthy of MTA recognition.

"We would also like to congratulate Piedmont Players, Lee Street Theatre, and Saint Thomas Players for the MTA recognitions that they received. This round of MTA awards proves that Salisbury has a thriving community of theatre artists and patrons."

Members of Catawba's Theatre Arts Department received 11 nominations in the following college/university productions:

Outstanding Production

Outstanding Lead Actor - Male

  • Cody Gasque (Emmett) – Legally Blonde, the Musical

Outstanding Lead Actor - Female

  • Sydney Berk (Elle Woods) – Legally Blonde, the Musical
  • TyNia Brandon (Ti Moune) – Once on this Island          

Outstanding Supporting Actor-Male

  • Jura Davis (Tonton Julian) – Once on this Island

Outstanding Direction

  • Jodye Carroll – Once on this Island

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Erin Dougherty – Legally Blonde, the Musical
  • Jacquelyn Loy – Once on this Island

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Jerry Archer – Once on this Island

Outstanding Choreography

  • Jodye Carroll – Legally Blonde, the Musical

Catawba College faculty members and alumni received nominations for their work with area theatre companies in the Regional - North category.

Catawba Associate Professor of Theatre Arts Dr. Beth Homan was nominated for Outstanding Direction and Outstanding Sound Design in the St. Thomas Players production of "Circle Mirror Transformation."   Catawba Professor of Theatre Arts David Pulliam was nominated for Outstanding Direction, Outstanding Set Design, and Outstanding Sound Design in the St. Thomas Players production of "Arcadia."   Catawba Professor Emerita of English Dr. Bethany Sinnott was nominated for Outstanding Properties Design in St. Thomas Players production of "Arcadia."

Catawba College alumni who are active in area theatre companies were nominated for awards. They include 1976 alumnus Reid Leonard, resident director of the Piedmont Players Theatre, and 2008 alumnus Justin Dionne, managing artistic director of Lee Street Theatre. 2008 alumna Brianna Smith was nominated for Theatre Person of the Year, one of MTA's Exceptional Awards.

Visit the Metrolina Theatre Association website for more information at


InfoUpcoming Productions

InfoTheatre Arts


« Return to Previous