Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba Students Inducted into Alpha Chi National Honor Society

September 29, 2017

Category: Academics, Events, Students

logo-alphachi.pngTwenty Catawba College students were inducted into the Alpha Chi National Honor Society during an induction ceremony held at Catawba College on September 22.  The induction ceremony was part of Family Weekend at the college.

Three seniors and 17 juniors were among those inducted into the North Carolina Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi.  Seniors inducted included Russell Brown of Troy; Austin Humphries of Advance; and Ashley Wagoner of Roaring River.  Junior inductees included Alexis Abillar of East Bend; Hannah Agner of Salisbury; Cody Bennett of Asheboro; Dustin Chapman of Whiteville; Kyrbee Cheek of Burlington; Marcia-Mariel Erhart of Rodgau, Germany; Matthew Hefner of Salisbury; Emily Hoffler of Palmyra, Pa.; Luke Humble of Salisbury; Caroline Kirk of Matthews; Veronica Leasure of Salisbury; Tyler McHargue of of Frederick, Md.; and Katherine Zobel of Chapin, S.C.

Dr. Marie-Odile Langhorne, an assistant professor of Modern Foreign Language, delivered the homily, "Be Who You Truly Are: Embrace Your Real Self." The faculty sponsor for Alpha Chi is Dr. Sharon Sullivan, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.

Founded in May 1978, the N.C. Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi at Catawba has inducted 750 members since its inception.  Membership is open only to those students in the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes.  Alpha Chi membership represents the highest academic achievement at Catawba College.

« Return to Previous