Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba Students Inducted into Alpha Chi National Honor Society

September 28, 2018

Category: Academics, Events, Students

50yearchapel04.jpgFour seniors and 14 juniors at Catawba College were inducted into the Alpha Chi National Honor Society during an induction ceremony held in the Omwake-Dearborn Chapel on campus on September 28.  The ceremony was part of Family Weekend at the college. 

Among those inducted into the North Carolina Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi were seniors Amanda Barbee of Mocksville; Lukas Helbing of Bessingen an der Teck, Germany; Ryen Reid of Claremont; and Christina Thacker of Mooresville; as well as juniors Madison Bell of New Port Richey, Fla.; Ashley Bornkamp of Mooresville; Federico Borrego Higareda of Mexico City, Mexico; Taylor Cielo of Raleigh; Branden Davis of Thomasville; Patrick Dissosway of Lewisville; Heather Duncan of Salisbury; Emily Fogelman of Liberty; Sophie Hirsch of Markleeberg, Germany; Peyton Pruitt of Davidson; Sarah Sandate of Charlotte; Kelly Sandoval of Santa Fe, N.M.; Madison Smith of Randleman; and Olivia Wooldridge of Porirua, New Zealand. 

Dr. Renee McCachren, a professor Music, delivered the homily, “Sawdust and Shiny Paint.” The faculty sponsor for Alpha Chi is Dr. Sharon Sullivan, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, while Drs. Jason Hunt, an associate professor of Mathematics and Sue Calcagni, an associate professor of Biology and Environmental Science, are faculty advisors.

Founded in May 1978, the N.C. Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi at Catawba has inducted 750 members since its inception.  Membership is open only to those students in the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes.  Alpha Chi membership represents the highest academic achievement at Catawba College. 

« Return to Previous