Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College is closely monitoring the outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 and will provide ongoing updates at
UPDATED: 5/27/20 - 4:04 p.m.

Catawba Students Win Research Awards at N.C. Academy of Science Meeting

April 13, 2014

Category: Academics, Biology, Chemistry, Students

L-R: Furstenwerth, Spillman, Conte, Benton

For the second time in as many years, two Catawba College students were awarded 1st place John Bowley Derieux Research Awards, in their respective divisions, for excellence in undergraduate research at the 111th Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science (NCAS) Meeting. Juliana Conte of Ontario, Canada and Finn Furstenwerth of Hamburg, Germany were recognized at the annual meeting held March 28 and 29 at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences in Raleigh.

The titles of the students' research, student co-authors, and the professors who assisted these students are as follows:

  • Conte, Juliana, Thomas Benton, Carmony Hartwig, and Mark Sabo. Investigating Peroxidation of Lipid by Heme-Artemisinin Adducts in vitro.
    1st Place in Chemistry, Physics, Biotechnology, and Behavioral Science.
  • Spillman, Taylor, Finn Fürstenwerth, Duncan Cameron, and Jay Bolin. Isotopic Investigation of Mycoheterotrophy in the Southern Bluethread. 
    1st Place in Zoology, Botany, Ecology, and Environmental Science.

Drs. Jay F. Bolin and Carmony L. Hartwig are assistant professors of biology at Catawba and Dr. Mark S. Sabo is a professor of chemistry and chair of that department at the college.


« Return to Previous