Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba's Kappa Delta Pi Inducts Members, Installs Officers

April 22, 2009

Category: Evening & Graduate, Events, Students, Teacher Education

Kappa Delta Pi InducteesCatawba College's Theta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi education honor society installed new officers for the 2009-2010 year and inducted 17 new members in a ceremony held at 7:00 p.m., April 14th in the Tom Smith Auditorium on campus.

Professors of teacher education, Drs. James K. Stringfield and Lou Ann Kasias, opened the ceremony with welcoming remarks to the inductees, members, and invited guests. KDP officers inducted new members and officers in a ritual ceremony. Dr. Rhonda Truitt, counselor for the chapter and assistant professor of teacher education, presided over the meeting and was assisted by Amanda Bosch, director of curriculum materials center, Dr. Bonita Bloodworth, assistant professor of teacher education, Dr. Kasias, and current co-officers Brittany Burleson, president, Jenn Layton, vice president, Kalin Collier, secretary, and Melissa Powers, historian.

New officers installed were Brittany Burleson, president (second term); Stacey Michael, vice-president; Mallory Hodge, secretary; Kristen Parry, treasurer; and Kristen Collins, historian.

Inductees included the following:

Undergraduate students – Nancy Hamrick and John Hoehman, Granite Quarry, N.C.; Stacey Michael, Lexington, N.C.; Kristen Collins and Kristen Parry, Salisbury, N.C.; Elizabeth Fields, Thomasville, N.C.; and Mallory Hodge, Woodleaf, N.C.

Post-baccalaureate Teacher Certification student -  Leslie Weisiger-Williams, Salisbury, N.C.

Faculty – Dr. Tiffany Hunter, Salisbury, N.C.

Graduating seniors inducted and receiving honor cords were Ryann Baker, Rockwell, N.C., Kelly Stanley, China Grove, N.C.; Angela Brinkley, Brenda Phillips, and Casey Wolfe, Lexington, N.C.; Christina Heiner and Jennifer Todd, Charlotte, N.C.; Eric Thornton, Simpsonville, Ga.; and Sarah Worley, Thomasville, N.C..

Graduating KDP members receiving honor cords were Brittany Burleson, Cynthia Desch (M.Ed.) Kimberly Miller (M.Ed.) and Pamela Rutherford (M.Ed.), Salisbury, N.C.; David Bloom, Marietta, Ga.; Kalin Collier, Rural Hall, N.C.; Amanda Fulton (M.Ed.), Lexington, N.C.; Allannah Irwin, Hershey, Pa.; Savanna Farris, Rockwell, N.C.; Jenn Layton, Bridgeton, N.J.; Melissa Powers, Bennett, N.C. and Amy Pruitt (M.Ed.), Linwood, N.C.

Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education, was founded March 8, 1911, at the University of Illinois. It was incorporated June 8, 1911. Organized to recognize excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi invites members who exhibit the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards, and promise in teaching and allied professions. The Theta Phi Chapter was installed on February 28, 1958 at Catawba College. The chapter was reactivated in 1983.


Photos"PHOTOS: Kapp Delta Pi Induction (Spring 2009)



« Return to Previous