Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba's Kappa Delta Pi Inducts New Members

April 12, 2006

Category: Academics, Events, Students, Teacher Education

Catawba College's Theta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi education honor society inducted new members in a ceremony held in the Tom Smith Auditorium on the campus April 6, 2006.

Dr. James K. Stringfield opened the ceremony with welcoming remarks to the inductees, members and invited guests.  KDP officers and teacher education faculty inducted new members in a ritual ceremony.  Professor Charlesetta Dawson, counselor for the chapter, presided over the meeting and was assisted by co-counselor Amanda Bosch.

Inductees included the following: Undergraduate students – Andrew Howe and Amber Rady, both of Salisbury; and Graduate student – Amy Stokes of Salisbury.  Graduating seniors inducted and receiving honor cords were Jessica Hathcock, Landis; Amanda Johnson, Thomasville; Laura Mowrer, Kannapolis; and Amanda Shoffner, Mocksville.

Graduating KDP members receiving honor cords were Sharon Everhart, Spencer; Sara Gray, Mt. Pleasant; Stacey Lentz, Kannapolis; April Naylor, Mocksville; Jessica Smith, Westfield; Kimberly Starnes (M.Ed.), Mooresville; and Summer Zuck, Kingston, Tenn.  

Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education, was founded March 8, 1911 at the University of Illinois.  It was incorporated June 8, 1911.  Organized to recognize excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi invites members who exhibit the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards, and promise in teaching and allied professions. The Theta Phi Chapter was installed on February 28, 1958.  The chapter was reactivated in 1983.

« Return to Previous