Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College is closely monitoring the outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 and will provide ongoing updates at
UPDATED: 5/27/20 - 4:04 p.m.

Ceremony Marks Admission of 40 Students to Teacher Education Program

October 30, 2013

Category: Academics, Evening & Graduate, Events, Students, Teacher Education

PinningForty Catawba College students and one faculty member were honored in a formal pinning ceremony held in Hedrick Little Theater on Tuesday, October 22, 2013. This event marked admission to the Teacher Education Program at Catawba and was followed by a reception in the Peeler Crystal Lounge that was sponsored by the Goodman School of Education.

The ceremony was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE). Dr. Lou Ann Kasias, a professor of teacher education at Catawba, spoke to teacher education students about earning respect while meeting the challenges of teaching. Dr. Kasias has served Catawba College and teacher education for 31 years. She decorated the stage with an arrangement of fall flowers.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics and the establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those who were pinned during the ceremony from the traditional day program at Catawba included Nadine Bogdon, Salisbury; Richard Bordeman, Concord; Spencer Ann Bowden, Salisbury; Haley Campbell, Kannapolis; Patricia Fiorelli, Salisbury  Shawn Galloway, Rockwell; Jonathan Gamble, Concord; Brad Hamrick, Salisbury; Karina Hernandez, Salisbury; Mary Allison Horton, Cleveland; Sydney Hyder, Asheboro; Patrick Karriker, China Grove; Haley Lanier, Burgaw; Taylor Lee, Kannapolis; Kristi Leonard, Rockwell; Richard Martin, Thomasville; Christopher Money, King; Rachael Moore, Mocksville; Justin Morris, Salisbury; Andrew Murphy, Central Islip, N.Y.; Michelle Newberger, Lute, Fla.; Jessica Parker, Southern Pines; Michael C. Phillips, Jr., China Grove; Thomas Phillips, West Jefferson; Ashton Pryor, Salisbury; Kelly Schumacher, Easton, Md.; Rachel Shelton, Salisbury; Whitney Short, Mocksville; Paige Smart, Mocksville; Sydney Smith, Salisbury; Erika Spach, Lexington; Courtney Tunstall, Mount Airy; Zach Veitenheimer, Tobaccoville; and Jonathan Williams, Hillsborough.

Those pinned from Catawba's Birth-Kindergarten Program included Harmony Abee, Trinity; Candis Coble, Salisbury; Hillary Gordon, Salisbury and Wrightsville Beach; Tammy Jackson, Norwood; Wendé Rabon, Lexington; and Amy Williams, Thomasville.

Dr. Karen Lucas of Salisbury, Mathematics Education Coordinator, was also pinned as the newest member of the Teacher Education Faculty.

Faculty advisor for the SNCAE organization is Mrs. Amanda Bosch, an assistant professor and director of the Curriculum Materials Center at Catawba.  SNCAE officers for the 2013-2014 academic year include Kristi Leonard of Rockwell, President; Michelle Newberger of Lute, Fla., Vice President; Paige Smart of Mocksville, Secretary; Destiny Pearcy of Mocksville, Treasurer; Brinsley Stewart of Booneville, Historian; Whitney Short of Mocksville, Senior Class Representative; Karina Hernandez of Salisbury and Erica Spach of Lexington, Junior Class Representatives; and Haley King of King, Sophomore Class Representative.


PhotosPHOTOS: Teacher Education Pinning Ceremony

InfoTeacher Education

InfoAcademy for Teaching


« Return to Previous