Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

College Employees Recognized

April 17, 2009

Category: Events, Faculty, Staff

Ben SmithCatawba College employee G. Ben Smith, assistant director of residence life and coordinator of the Lerner Wellness Center, received the Staff Member of the Year Award. It is presented annually and selection is made by a popular vote of the students.

Philip Acree CavalierAssociate Professor of English Dr. Philip Acree Cavalier was selected as Teacher of the Year. The recipient, who is chosen by a popular vote of the students, demonstrates the best in classroom rapport, evidence of concern for students, and intellectual stimulation.

Connie McCullen, a member of the College housekeeping staff, was honored as the recipient of the Louise Tucker Staff Council Award. The award is given to a staff member who demonstrates outstanding work ethic and performance in their area, with nominations made by member of the President's Council and the recipient selected by a vote of the Staff Council.

Margaret FaustThe President's Award for Staff Excellence was presented to Margaret Faust, the College's director of alumni and parent relations. The award is given annually to a member of the college staff who has distinguished him or herself in achieving excellence in job performance and who has contributed to strengthening of community spirit on campus. The recipient is selected through nominations from the entire faculty and staff, with a final selection from the nominations being made by the Staff Personnel Committee.

Andrew A. Vance, Jr.Dr. Andrew A. Vance, Jr., professor of modern foreign languages and business law, was the recipient of the Trustee Award for Outstanding Contribution to the College. It is presented on behalf of Catawba's Board of Trustees and given annually to the person or persons judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the institution. The recipient is selected by a vote of Catawba's faculty senate.
Gary FreezeThe Swink Prize for Outstanding Classroom Teacher was presented to Dr. Gary R. Freeze, professor of history. The selection was made by the Faculty Senate to a member of the faculty judged to be an outstanding classroom teacher. The award was created by a gift from the late Hearn Swink, former Rowan County resident, official with Cannon Mills Company, and friend of the College.

Tonia Black-GoldTonia Black-Gold, chief communications officer at the college, was the recipient of the Kenneth Clapp Tri-Delta Award. Established by the Class of 2000 in recognition of the work of Dr. Ken Clapp, College senior vice president and chaplain, it is presented annually to a member of the faculty or staff who demonstrates dedication, devotion, and dependability.



PHOTOS: Spring 2009 Awards Convocation





« Return to Previous