Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Graduating Members of Catawba's Alpha Chi Honor Society Recognized

May 14, 2016

Category: Academics, Events, Students

alphachi2016.jpgCatawba recognized twenty members of the graduating class of Catawba College's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi during the May 13th ceremony held in Omwake-Dearborn chapel on campus.

Dr. James Stringfield, Dean of the Goodman School of Education, and Dr. Phillip Frank, assistant professor of business, serve as faculty advisors for Alpha Chi. Dr. Margaret Stahr, associate professor of English at Catawba, serves as the sponsor.

Dr. Stahr congratulated the students on their involvement and hard work. "We are pleased to announce that for the fifth year in a row, a Catawba student has won a scholarship," noting that graduating senior Josh Hill was the recipient this year.

Collin Denton introduced the guest speaker, Dr. Phillip Frank, who teaches marketing classes at Catawba. "Dr. Frank expects a lot! But he had the ability to engage us as he taught and always pushed us to look deeper," said Denton.

Dr. Frank's homily, "Choose Your Own Adventure: The Story of Triund" was based on his experience of hiking Triund, a trek through the Dhauladhar Mountains outside of Dharmshala in India, the home of the Tibetan people and the Dalai Lama. While there, he chose to trek without a guide because he wanted to experience the multi-day hike and reach the summit on his own merit.

Dr. Frank then challenged the seniors to choose the same for their lives, learn from from their failures and do not forget themselves. "Your storms will give you the greatest stories," he said. As a final assignment to his students, he declared that he wants to hear about their adventures and the paths they have chosen, no matter how long it takes to see one another again.

Three new candidates were also initiated into the chapter, including Anna Elizabeth Carter of Mocksville, Brittany Jane Parsons of Durham, and Kristy Nicole Williams of Salisbury. Presidents Lauren Gaskill of Salisbury and Nathan Wyatt of Gold Hill along with secretary Carrie Loman of Salisbury were installed as officers for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Graduating seniors recognized were: Brooke Robyn Baumgarten of Salisbury; Riley Leigh Beck of Trinity; Andrea Bell Bosio of Chapel Hill; Heather Dale Boyles of King; Nadine Brockman of Hamburg, Germany; Kathleen Marie Burris of Mt. Pleasant; Anna Elizabeth Carter of Mocksville; Ashley Marie Everidge of Hamptonville; Joshua David Hill of Fayetteville; Ivan Pacheco Jimenez of Salisbury; Julia Patrice McRae of Aberdeen; Kyle Jeffrey Mechling of Quinton, Virginia; Abigail Sumers Moore of University Park, Maryland; Erin Symone Morant of Bealeton, Virginia; Brittany Jane Parsons of Durham; Elizabeth Nadine Renteria of Miramar, Florida; Lauren Taylor Sledd of Roanoke, Virginia; Taylor Elise Spillman of Booneville; Brinsley Morgan Stewart of Boonnille; and Kristy Nicole Williams of Salisbury.

Six members presented their research at the Alpha Chi National Convention held in Alexandria, Virginia, including: Blake Brewer of Efland; Collin Denton of Linwood; Ashley Everidge of Hamptonville; Josh Hill of Fayetteville; Taylor Spillman of Boonville; and alumni member Andrew McCollister of Salisbury. Josh Hill was the recipient of the Alpha Chi Region III scholarship for his honors thesis, "SOX with Holes: An Investigation of the Loopholes and Omissions in the Sarbanes-Oxley Act."

The graduation ceremony was followed by a reception and strawberries on the Chapel green.

Alpha Chi is a national honor society and a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. The N. C. Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi at Catawba was founded in May, 1978. To date, 709 members have been inducted. Membership is open only to those students in the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes.

« Return to Previous