Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Junior Marshals for 2015-1016 Commissioned at Catawba

August 20, 2015

Category: Academics, Events, Students

juniormarshals1516.jpgCatawba College President Brien Lewis commissioned 15 junior marshals from the day program for service in the 2015-2016 academic year during the College’s Opening Convocation on August 18 in the Omwake-Dearborn Chapel. 

These Junior Marshals, who assist College Marshal David Pulliam, assure that order and dignity are observed during formal occasions of the college, including Opening Convocation, Awards Day, Baccalaureate Service, and Commencement Exercises.  Marshals also serve at the annual Service of Lessons and Carols.

Junior Marshals are chosen from the rising junior class each year based on academic excellence. The top students, by GPA, in the day program are selected at the beginning of the fall semester and the top in the School of Evening and Graduate Studies are selected at the end of Block 3 in the spring semester.  These students embody the best of Catawba College in both academic achievement and service to the College community.

Dr. Janice Fuller, Catawba’s Writer-in-Residence, a professor of writing, and the longest-serving faculty member at the college serves as senior marshal. As the senior member of the faculty, she is entitled to carry the college mace and lead academic processionals during formal occasions of the college.

Junior Marshals from the day program for the 2015-2016 academic year include Rebecca Aclin of Glenn Dale, Md.; Madeline Auchter of Houston, Texas; Blake Brewer of Efland; Katelyn DeZago of Lexington; Anna Fields of Fairview; McKenzie Garrison of Newton; Lauren Gaskill of Salisbury; Olivia Hedrick of Elon; Michael Jones of Salisbury; Dominique Karriker of Salisbury; Reid Lichtenberger of Austin, Texas; Carrie Loman of Salisbury; Cole Middleton of Lexington; Declan Stimson of Gawler, Australia; and Nathan Wyatt of Gold Hill.

« Return to Previous