Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Junior Marshals and a Senior Marshal Commissioned at Catawba

August 23, 2012

Category: Academics, English, Events, Faculty, Students

Junior MarshalsCatawba College President Brien Lewis commissioned sixteen junior marshals from the day program and a new senior marshal from the faculty for service in the 2012-2013 academic year during a ceremony held August 22 in the Hurley Room on campus.

These Junior Marshals, who assist College Marshal David Pulliam, assure that order and dignity are observed during formal occasions of the college, including Opening Convocations, Awards Day, Baccalaureate, and Commencement.  Marshals also serve at the annual Service of Lessons and Carols.

Junior Marshals are chosen from the rising junior class each year based on academic excellence. The top students, by GPA, in the Day Program are selected at the beginning of the fall semester and the top in the School of Evening and Graduate Studies are selected at the end of Block 3 in the Spring Semester.  They embody the best of Catawba College in both academic achievement and service to the College community.

FullerDr. Janice Fuller, Catawba's Writer-in-Residence, a professor of writing, and the longest-serving faculty member at the college with 31 years of service, was commissioned as senior marshal. As the senior member of the faculty, she is entitled to carry the college mace and lead academic processionals during formal occasions of the college.

Junior Marshals from the day program for the 2012-2013 academic year include Megan M. Bean of Kannapolis; Cameron M. Beard of Conover; Athena C. Bless of Asheboro; David J. Crescenzo of Jamestown; Frank Villa Hernandez of Kannapolis; Lindsay C. King of Kannapolis; Brendan C. Lawson of Charlotte; Nicholas G. Luciano of Concord; Allijah G. Motika of Asheville; Olivia J. Myers of Lexington; Laurel B. Powell of Mooresville; Jacob R. Regensburger of Fayetteville; Rebecca Rider of Rockwell; Anna C. Toole of Raleigh; Ashley Wietbrock of Salisbury; and Julio C. Zubillaga of China Grove.


Info Junior Marshals


« Return to Previous