Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Junior Marshals Commissioned for Service during 2011-2012 Academic Year

August 25, 2011

Category: Academics, Events, Students

Junior MarshalsThirteen students were commissioned for service as Junior Marshals by Catawba College President Dr. Joseph B. Oxendine in a ceremony held Wednesday, August 24 in the Hurley Room of the Cannon Student Center.

These Junior Marshals, who assist College Marshal David Pulliam, assure that order and dignity are observed during formal occasions of the college, including Opening Convocations, Awards' Day, Baccalaureate, and Commencement. Marshals also serve at the annual Service of Lessons and Carols.
Junior Marshals are chosen from the rising junior class each year based on academic excellence. The top students, by GPA, in the Day Program are selected at the beginning of the fall semester and the top in the School of Evening and Graduate Studies are selected at the end of Block 3 in the Spring Semester.   They embody the best of Catawba College in both academic achievement and service to the College community.

Dr. Michael Baranski, a professor of biology, and the longest-serving faculty member at the college, entering his 38th year of service, was commissioned as senior marshal. As the senior member of the faculty, he is entitled to carry the college mace and lead academic processionals during formal occasions of the college.

Junior Marshals from the day program for the 2011-2012 academic year include Amelia D. Baity of Hamptonville; Kylie A. Beinke of Cary; Meredith M. Brown of Troutman; Elizabeth G. Davis of East Bend; Christina C. Faircloth of Belmont; Hannah R. Fisher of China Grove; Ashley G. Freeze of China Grove; Katherine R. Higgins of Durham; Jaclyn M. Lawrence of Waxhaw; Maura L. Pantone of Pittsburgh, Pa.; Blake R. Rushing of Indian Trail; Dustin S. Shelton of Kannapolis; and Elizabeth J. White of Salisbury.


PhotosPHOTOS: Day Program Junior Marshals Commissioned for 2011-2012  

InfoJunior Marshals


« Return to Previous