Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

National Honor Society at Catawba College Inducts New Members

October 19, 2009

Category: Academics, Events, Students

Catawba College's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi, the national college honor society, held an initiation ceremony for candidates on Sept. 25th in Omwake-Dearborn Chapel on campus.  The ceremony was held in conjunction with the college's annual Family Weekend.

The organization's 2009-2010 president, senior Andrea E. Clabaugh of York, Pa., officiated, assisted by faculty sponsor Dr. Bethany S. Sinnott, a professor of English, and faculty advisors Dr. Maria Vandergriff-Avery, associate professor of sociology, and Dr. Barry Sang, professor of religion.  Dr. Sheila Brownlow, professor of psychology, delivered the homily for the ceremony, "If not you, then who?"  Senior Caitlin Springs of Santa Clara, Calif., delivered the invocation.

Candidates initiated into the organization include seniors Patrick Bryan Dennis of Durham; Grant Alexander Gibson of Owen Sound, Ontario; Nathaniel Ray Griffin of Boomer; Katherine Virginia Hill of Fayetteville; Amber Michelle Hughes of Seattle, Wash.; and Kali Marina McCullough of Columbia, Tenn.  Juniors initiated include Alexa Rae Baird of Plainfield, N.J.; Cynthia Mary Cook of Franklin, Pa.; Stephanie M. Hill of China Grove; John Matthew Hoehman of Granite Quarry; William Reece Huneycutt of Locust; Chad Michael Innis of Mint Hill; Mark Lee Ketterer of Hamilton, N.J.; Joseph Stephen Manser of Mooresville; Sarah Yie-Wah Morse of North Berwick, Maine; Zachary Talmadge Owen of Charlotte; Austen Matthew Peters of Clemmons; Lara Anne Poplo of Newark, Del.; Laura Elaine Ritchie of Salisbury; Sarah Claiborne Robinson of Cartersville, Va.; Laura Whitney Sale of Yadkinville; Robert Bruce Sawyer of Salisbury; Vanessa Galera Silva of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Elizabeth Nicole Sloop of Salisbury; and Mara Lee Stewart of Hurricane, W. Va.

Catawba's Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi was founded in May 1978 with the induction of 13 members.  To date, more than 550 members have been inducted. Alpha Chi inducts no more than the top 10 percent of juniors and seniors from all academic fields.  Founded in 1922, the society has active chapters at more than 300 colleges and universities in 45 states and Puerto Rico.



« Return to Previous