Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

New Members Inducted into the Tri-Beta Biological Honor Society at Catawba

April 23, 2015

Category: Academics, Biology, Events, Students

logo_tribeta.jpgCatawba College's Tau Eta Chapter of Beta Beta Beta, the national biological honor society, inducted 18 members at its annual induction ceremony on April 9. The inductees will be lifetime members of Tri-Beta.

At the ceremony held in the Center for the Environment on campus, graduating seniors who are members of the society were also recognized and received their honor cords. Dr. Jay Bolin, assistant professor of biology and Tri-Beta faculty advisor, presented the keynote entitled, "Botanizing Oman the Land of Frankincense."

Members inducted include Brooke Baumgarten of Salisbury; Elizabeth Brown of Salisbury; Katelyn DeZego of Lexington; Kaytee Frabotta of Sterling Heights, Mich.; Shannon Garrick of China Grove; Maria Gurski of Norristown, Pa.; Kyle Henderson of Concord; Kenneth Hipp of Salisbury; Audrey Hoffman of Dacula, Ga.; Matthew Jordan-Steele of Lexington; Forrest Karriker of Greenville; Haley King of King; James Lohr of Salisbury; Andrew McCollister of Rockwell; Taylor Parker of Mt. Ulla; Katherine Shumaker of Blanch; Santiago Suarez of Lewisville; and Joshua York of Salisbury.

At the induction ceremony, 18 graduating seniors were recognized with red and green Honors Cords. These will be worn during Commencement.

Tri-Beta Members Recognized for Research and Presentation
Ten Tri-Beta members received the Buxton Baranski Biology Honors medals. Named in honor of retired Biology faculty members Dr. Jay Buxton and Dr. Michael Baranski, medals are award to graduating seniors who conduct significant biologically-related undergraduate research and present their work at a regional or national conference.  These students include Christopher Bolick of Chuckey, Tenn.; Elizabeth Brown of Salisbury; Logan Ellis of Julian; Susan Ethridge of Concord; Paul Frye of China Grove; Finn Furstenwerth of Hamburg, Germany; Kyle Henderson of Concord; Kenneth Hipp of Salisbury; Amber Williamson of Lexington; and Joshua York of Salisbury.

The Biology Service Award for outstanding leadership and service in biology was awarded to Paul Frye of China Grove.

Tri-Beta student leadership for the 2014-2015 academic year included Paul Frye of China Grove, president; Titus Hunt of Lexington, vice-president; Elijah Wittum of Cleveland, secretary; and Johnathan Boles of Salisbury, treasurer. The faculty advisor for the society is Dr. Jay Bolin, assistant professor of biology.

The Tau Eta Chapter of Tri-Beta was founded at Catawba in 1992. The society is dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. 

« Return to Previous