Skip to main content

Sign into the Catawba College community portal:

Login to CatLink

Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall:
Take the Care about Catawba Pledge   |   Ask a Question

New Members Inducted into Tri-Beta Honor Society at Catawba College

May 1, 2009

Category: Academics, Biology, Environmental Science, Events, Students

The Catawba College Chapter of Beta Beta Beta, the national biology honor society, inducted 13 new members at its annual induction ceremony of April 22, 2009.  The ceremony was conducted by president Rachel Roberts of Knoxville, Tenn.; vice-president Kyle Ganow of State College, Pa.; secretary Katrina Pergerson of Spring Lake, N.C.; and faculty advisor Dr. Steve Coggin.  New regular members are: Erin Blalock of Denver, N.C.; Megan Durham of Rockwell, N.C. (promoted from associate member); Nathaniel Griffin of Boomer, N.C.; John Gurski of Norristown, Pa.; Evan Hall of Salisbury, N.C. (promoted from associate member); David Idol of Kenersville, N.C. (promoted from associate member); Finnur Magnusson of Reykjavik, Iceland; June McDowell of Dallastown, Pa.; Brittany Parker of Mt. Ulla, N.C.; Andrew Plummer of Thomasville, N.C. (promoted from associate member); Heather Schiffhauer of Weaverville, N.C.; Chad Villiard of Holiday, Fla.; Max Vinograd of Bethesda, Md.; and Erin Witalison of Gold Hill, N.C.   New associate members are: Garrett Christy of Cleveland, N.C., Josh Honyecutt of Richfield, N.C., and Jaymie Moore of Salisbury, N.C.

Fourteen graduating senior members of Tri Beta were recognized and received their honors cords.  The seniors are Mary Black of Thomasville, N.C.; Nicole Blackwelder of Weaverville, N.C.; Garrett Christy; Megan Durham; Evan Hall; David Idol; Finnur Magnusson; Brittany Parker; Katrina Pergerson; Andrew Plummer; Mitchell Reeves of Jonesville, N.C.; Rachel Roberts; Daniel Robertson of Little Rock, Ark.; and Heather Schiffhauer.

Dr. Sue Calcagni, associate professor of biology and environmental science spoke on "Tennessee Exxon Valdez: Rupture of a Coal Ash Settling Pond in Kingston, Tenn."

New officers for 2009-2010 will be Kyle Ganow, president; Erin Blalock, vice president; and June McDowell, secretary.  





« Return to Previous