Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College is closely monitoring the outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 and will provide ongoing updates at
UPDATED: 5/27/20 - 4:04 p.m.

Pinning Ceremony Welcomes 27 Catawba College Students to Teacher Education Program

September 20, 2018

Category: Academics, Events, Students, Teacher Education

IMG_1051.jpgCatawba College’s Department of Teacher Education held an Opening Celebration for all teacher education students in Peeler-Crystal Lounge on September 18th. A “meet and greet” reception was held prior to the program that was designed to welcome and inform students of the opportunities for students of education.

Dr. James Stringfield welcomed guests to the Opening Celebration and Pinning Ceremony sponsored by the Department of Teacher Education, the Academy for Teaching, and the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE). Christina Thacker, 2017 cohort of West Scholars, presented a brief overview of the Academy for Teaching and activities of the West Scholars, and the West Scholars attending the program were recognized. 

Brittany Hager of Salisbury, president of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP), an International Honor Society in Education, informed guests of the requirements for joining KDP and member benefits and current members were recognized. 

Zach Alford, president of the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE), gave a brief presentation about SNCAE activities and encouraged students to join the organization.

SNCAE vice-president, Leah Terraglio, gave a description of the pin at the beginning of the pinning ceremony. 

Twenty-seven education students were honored in the formal pinning ceremony, which marked their admission to the Teacher Education Program at Catawba College. Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS CORE standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics and the establishment of a 2.75 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check. Drs. Kim Creamer and Donna James assisted with the pinning. 

Those who were pinned during the ceremony from the traditional day program at Catawba included Abigail Adams, Piedmont, S.C.; Thomas Brackett, Salisbury; Luis Campa, Bluffton, S.C.; Gregory Florio, Lake Wylie, S.C.; Amy Hedrick, Mooresville; Maggie Huffman, Conover; Kaitlin Koons, Pilot Mountain; Zachary Lecius, Fort Myers, Fla.; Zachary Mayo, Mt. Pleasant; Brittany McGee, Salisbury; Kevin Norton, Hamlet; Tyler Sabolovic, Rutherfordton; Margaret Smith, Salisbury; and Christina Thacker, Mooresville.

Those pinned from Catawba’s Birth-Kindergarten program included Elena Avilez, Salisbury; Burnita Branch, Charlotte; Christina Brown, Kannapolis; Keeshan Brown, Concord; Jennie Burkhart, Lexington; Nicole Craver, Lexington; Meliya Harris, Granite Quarry; Jessica Honeycutt, Faith; Lindsay Miller, Mocksville; Alicia Olvey, Thomasville; Karla Patino, Charlotte; Robin Walker, Salisbury; and Felicia Wesley, Salisbury.

Faculty advisor for the SNCAE organization is Dr. Kim Creamer. SNCAE officers for the 2018-2019 academic year include Zach Alford, President, Mooresville; Leah Terraglio, Vice President, Statesville; Carly Boileau, Secretary, Lexington; and Christina Thacker, Treasurer, Mooresville.

Faculty counselor for the Kappa Delta Pi honor society is Dr. James Stringfield. KDP officers for the 2018-2019 academic year include Brittany Hager, President, Salisbury, and Hunter Benfield, Treasurer, Kannapolis.

The faculty director for the Academy for Teaching and the West Scholars’ program is Dr. Kim Creamer.

View Photos

« Return to Previous