Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College is closely monitoring the outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 and will provide ongoing updates at
UPDATED: 5/27/20 - 4:04 p.m.

Recipients of Endowed Professorships Announced at Catawba College's Opening Convocation

September 5, 2006

Category: Academics, Biology, English, Events, Faculty, Politics, Psychology, Teacher Education, Theatre Arts

The recipients of several endowed professorships were announced Thursday, August 31 during Catawba College's Opening Convocation for the 2006-2007 academic year.  

Dr. Michael J. Baranski, a professor of biology, received the Bashore Distinguished Professorship in Environmental Science. This professorship must be awarded to a faculty member in environmental science who is a high achiever as a scholar and teacher with outstanding qualifications and enthusiasm for his work and the students who are entrusted to him.

Dr. Laurel B. Eason, professor of English, received the Leona Fleming Herman Endowed Professorship of English. This professorship is awarded to a faculty member who exemplifies excellence in the performance of teaching, scholarship, and service in the discipline of English.

Dr. James K. Stringfield, Jr., professor of teacher education, was the recipient of the Clifford A. and Lillian C. Peeler Endowed Professorship of Education. This recipient is expected to exemplify excellence in the performance of teaching, scholarship and service in the discipline of Education.

Dr. Bruce F. Griffith, professor of history, was the recipient of the Weaver Endowed Chair of Humanities. This professorship is awarded to a faculty member who exemplifies excellence in the performance of teaching, scholarship, and service in any discipline defined by the National Endowment for the Humanities as eligible for funding.

Dr. Sheila Brownlow, professor of psychology, was awarded the Jefferson-Pilot Professorship. This professorship is awarded to a faculty member in any academic discipline who makes an outstanding contribution to the College.

Somewhat different from the other professorships in the way that it is awarded, the Swink Professorship was presented to David Pulliam, professor of theatre arts, at Awards Convocation last spring. A faculty member from any discipline is selected by the faculty senate for excellence in classroom teaching.

Dr. Barbara Hetrick, vice president and dean of the college, noted that these endowed professorships "allow the College to recognize outstanding members of the faculty, to attract excellent new faculty, and to enhance the funds available for faculty compensation." The announcement of the new recipients comes after a study and review of the professorships last year by the faculty senate and the dean. Out of that study and review, a set of criteria and procedures for the creation and administration of endowed professorships was approved. Then, nominations of recipients were made by relevant academic departments and faculty.

Each new faculty recipient will serve in a professorship for a period of two years and will receive an additional monetary stipend as well as funds to improve teaching and learning in her or his department. Preference was given to full-time, tenured full professors.

Additional professorships at Catawba are still under review.

« Return to Previous