Skip to main content

Sign into the Catawba College community portal:

Login to CatLink

Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

REMAIN AT CATAWBA  |  Take the Pledge  |  Ask a Question

Students and Faculty Members Welcomed to Catawba's Teacher Education Program

December 18, 2012

Category: Academics, Evening & Graduate, Events, Faculty, Students, Teacher Education

PinningIn a formal pinning ceremony held in late October, thirty eight Catawba College students and two faculty members were accepted into the Department of Teacher Education at the college.

The ceremony, held in Hedrick Little Theatre, was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE). Ms. Laura Ritchie, a 2011 Catawba alumna, shared remarks about her perspective on teaching and a reception followed in the Peeler Crystal Lounge.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics and the establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those who were pinned during the ceremony from the traditional day program at Catawba included Rachel Abbatiello of Midland; Allison Andrews of Sherrills Ford; Cameron Beard of Conover; Caroline Bostian of Winston-Salem ; Jana Burkhardt of Wake Forest; Tiffany Carter of Salisbury; Daniel Couchenour of Fort Mill, S.C.; Ashley Csirip of Columbus, N.J.; KaShara Davis of Charlotte; Courtney Frick of Rockwell; David Garcia of King; Alyssa Gilmore of Salisbury; Bristol Glass of Concord; Kyle Griewisch of Banner Elk; Kristy Hinson of Salisbury; Aliyah Khan of China Grove; Lindsay King of Kannapolis; Nicholas Luciano of Concord; Anne Mabry of China Grove; Katie Marlowe of Newton; Grover Moore of Burlington; Brittany Murray of Asheboro; Alexandria Parrish of Zebulon; Jacob Regensburger of Fayetteville; Dillon Reid of Mocksville; Emily Richardson of Salem, Va.; Cristin Ritchie of Salisbury; Donna Steele of Charlotte; Jamesha Thomas of Salisbury; Anna Toole of Raleigh; Jill Totten of Salisbury; and Ashley Wietbrock of Salisbury.

Those pinned from the School of Evening and Graduate Studies' Birth-Kindergarten Program included Sydney Crutchfield of Thomasville; Megan McIntyre of Woodleaf; Andrea Packer of Thomasville; Lori Rierson of Thomasville; Lindsay Tuttle of Lexington; and Aldena Wyatt of Lexington.

Two faculty members were also pinned as members of the Teacher Education faculty. They were Dr. Donna James, birth-kindergarten education coordinator, and Professor Joe Hernandez, associate professor of theatre arts.

Faculty advisor for the SNCAE organization is Mrs. Amanda Bosch. SNCAE officers for the 2012-2013 academic year include Cristin Ritchie of Salisbury, president; Chelsea Starr of , vice president; Ashley Csirip of Columbus, N.J., secretary; Christina Faircloth of Belmont, treasurer; Danielle Garzon of Raleigh, historian; and Jordan Farmer of Walnut Grove, Senior Class Representative.


PhotosPHOTOS: 2012 Pinning Ceremony

InfoStudent North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE)

InfoTeacher Education (Day Program)

InfoB.A.E., Education (Evening Undergraduate Program)


« Return to Previous