Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Catawba College is closely monitoring the outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 and will provide ongoing updates at
UPDATED: 4/3/20 - 1:00 p.m.

Students "See What Success Looks Like" at Ketner School of Business Hall of Fame

November 13, 2012

Category: Alumni, Business & Economics, Events, Students


Business Hall of Fame

One of the individuals inducted into Catawba College's Ketner School of Business Hall of Fame on November 13 was the man who started it in 2007. Philip J. Kirk '67 of Raleigh, a member of the Business Hall of Fame's Class of 2012, was credited with establishing the Hall of Fame when he was employed at Catawba as the Vice President of External Relations.


In addition to Kirk, other 2012 inductees included Bryan M. Applefield '66 of Dothan, Ala.; Helen E. Applefield '67 of Dothan, Ala.; Jim T. Brewer '59 of Winston-Salem; David B. Jordan '59 of Salisbury; and Arlen G. Yokley '59 of Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.

Catawba alumnus Joey Popp '77, a member of the Business Advisory Board for the Ketner School of Business, served as the master of ceremonies for the event held in Peeler Crystal Lounge. He told Catawba students in attendance that by attending the ceremony and hearing from the inductees, "We're planting a seed so you can see what success looks like. "


2012 Inductees


ApplefieldBryan M. Applefield '66
A 1966 Catawba alumnus, Applefield is the CEO of Goldco, Inc., listed as one of the top 100 privately owned franchises in the U.S.; president of Winco, L.L.C.; and vice-president of Sturdivant Development Company. He is a commercial real estate developer, has served as a venture capitalist for two successful businesses, and has owned and operated nine different franchise businesses.

Applefield, a member of the Catawba College Board of Trustees, has served his alma mater as Dean of Men and as Interim Dean of the Ketner School of Business.

He is married to wife Helen and the couple has an adult son, Bryan Scott.

ApplefieldHelen Ertl Applefield '67
A 1967 Catawba alumna and a native of Pennsylvania, Helen Applefield serves as president of Applefield Realty and vice president of Goldco, Inc., one of the largest Burger King franchises in the U.S. While she has worked as an educator, she is now a managing partner in a diverse real estate portfolio and active in numerous business startups. She is co-founder of a 501C3 Spay and Neuter Clinic.

She met husband Bryan while a student at Catawba and the two are parents of an adult son, Bryan Scott.

James T. Brewer ‘59
BrewerJames Brewer graduated from Catawba College in 1959 and enjoyed a long and successful career between 1960 and 1993 with Wachovia Bank and Trust and the Wachovia Corporation. He headed Wachovia's retail banking division for 17 years and is now retired from Wachovia Corporation as executive vice president, head of administrative division.

He joined the Catawba College Board of Trustees in 1973 and served until 1998, chairing that board between 1995 and 1998. He now serves as a trustee emeritus on this board. In 1997, Catawba honored Brewer with its O.B. Michael Award in recognition of his status as a distinguished alumnus of the college. He has had an active role in civic affairs throughout his life in Salisbury, Burlington and Winston-Salem.

JordanDavid B. Jordan '59
A native of Salisbury, Jordan has served as chief executive officer of Security Capital Bancorp and vice chairman of Vice Chairman of CCB Financial Corporation. He has chaired the North Carolina Bankers Association.

A civic and community leader in the Salisbury-Rowan community, he is an active leader and elder in First Presbyterian Church.

Philip J. Kirk '67
KirkA Rowan County native, Kirk has enjoyed a long and varied career. Early on, he was a newspaper reporter and a public school teacher of English and journalism in the Salisbury City Schools before joining state government. In 1970, the people of Rowan County elected him to the N.C. State Senate, and he became its youngest member in state history at that time. He later served as chief of staff for N.C. Governors Jim Holshouser and Jim Martin, and for U.S. Senator Jim Broyhill. He also served two governors as Secretary of the N.C. Department of Human Resources. He retired in 2003 as chairman of the N.C. State Board of Education, after five and a half years of service`

He served for 16 years as president and chief executive officer of North Carolina Citizens for Business and Industry (NCCBI). He worked at Catawba for several years as vice president of external relations before taking his current position as director of Brady Energy Services.

YokleyArlen G. Yokley '59
A native of High Point, Yokley is a U.S. Army veteran. He had a successful 39-year career with Southern Bell, AT&T, South Central Bell and BellSouth Corporation. He retired in 1998 as senior vice president, secretary and treasurer of BellSouth Corporation.

A trustee emeritus of Catawba College, Yokley established a First Family Scholarship at his alma mater. While a student, he served as president of Catawba's Student Government Association and was the recipient of the prestigious Whitener Award at his graduation.

Sponsors and Previous Inductees
Sponsors for this year's event include Visionary Sponsors: Mr. Ralph W. Ketner and Carolina Beverage Corporation; Executive Sponsors: Statewide Title and Cloninger Ford Toyota Scion; Partner Sponsors: F&M Bank, Dr. and Mrs. Charles Muse, and Dr. Pamela Thompson; and Consultant Sponsors: Nathan and Amy Hrinsin.

Previous inductees include Paul E. Fisher of Salisbury; Richard "Dick" J. Seiwell '67 of West Chester, Pa.; James "Jim" L. Williamson'54 of Charlotte; the late Lotan Corriher of Landis; Darlene Landis Ball '62 of Salisbury; the late Enoch A. Goodman of Salisbury; the late James F. Hurley, III of Salisbury; the late Claude S. Abernethy Jr. of Newton; C. A. "Junie" Michael '70 of Mooresville; the late Clifford A. Peeler of Salisbury; Tom E. Smith '64 of Salisbury; Ralph W. Ketner of Salisbury; Lynne Scott Safrit '80 of Kannapolis; Claude Hampton, Jr. '48 of Salisbury; the late Thomas S. Carroll '41 of New Canaan, Conn.; the late Adrian L. Shuford, Jr., of Conover; the late J. W. Abernethy, Jr., of Newton; and the late Millard Wilson of Salisbury.


InfoPHOTOS: 2012 Business Hall of Fame Induction

InfoBusiness Hall of Fame

InfoSchool of Business

InfoBusiness & Economics


« Return to Previous