Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

We are excited to welcome you back to our beautiful campus in the Fall! Read more at

Students Take Part in InaugurationEvents for N.C. Governor Pat McCrory '78

January 10, 2013

Category: Academics, Alumni, Events, Music, Students

VernacularsCatawba College students will participate in several inaugurationEvents for North Carolina's new governor, 1978 Catawba alumnus, Pat McCrory.

Catawba's Vernaculars All Stars will perform between 7:30 and 8 p.m. on Friday, January 11 at the Inauguration Ball. Students Olivia Albertson of Thomasville, Silas Boyle of Louisville, Ky., Jacob Martin of St. Louis, Mo., Greg Moore of Durham and Allijah Motika of Asheville will be accompanied by Department Chair and Director of Popular Music and Music Business programs at Catawba, Dr. David Fish.

PrideMembers of the Catawba Pride, the college's marching band, will join other participants from around the state during the 2013 Inaugural Parade slated at 12:30 p.m. Saturday, January 12 in downtown Raleigh. The parade follows the Inaugural Ceremony and the Inaugural Address. It begins at the intersection of Fayetteville Street and Davie Street, travels north on Fayetteville Street until turning right onto Hargett Street, then traveling north on Wilmington Street. The parade route ends at the intersection of Wilmington Street and E. Lane Street.

Attendance and parking for the Inaugural Ceremony and Parade are free and open to the public.

Members of the Catawba Pride, who are directed by Jay Meachum, Dr. Steve Etters, Kim Etters and Peter Zlotnick, include Jordan Warren of Salisbury; Haley King of King; Heather Boyles of King; Nick Luciano of Concord; Cody Mangum of Concord; Ryn Crawford of Concord; Ray Giannuzzi of Lusby, Md.; Liz Overman of Salisbury; Ashton Alexander of Granite Quarry; Adam Stacks of Newton; Uriah Futch of Mt. Airy; Brittany Davis of Lexington; Forrest Karriker of Greenville; Matt Howes of Greensboro; McCroryChase Etters of Salisbury; Chris Money of King; Zach Veitenheimer of Tobaccoville; Patrick Karriker of China Grove; Martin Ross of Durham; Daniel Mowery of Salisbury; Cole McDonnell of Waverly, Pa.; Taylor Lee of Kannapolis; EJ Richardson of Badin; Chelsea Retalic of Concord; Jackie Davis of Lexington; Selina Barnhardt of Lexington; Kristin Swilley of Salisbury; Maddie Wyatt of Kannapolis and Devan Purvis of Spencer. Joining the Pride in the Inaugural Parade are recruits who include Collin Denton (Fall 2013), Christian Moore (Fall 2013), Alex Carriker (Fall 2013), Brandon Douglas, Nikki Wylie, Austin Coe, Mason Forrest, Aubrey Hollopeter, Brandon Brown and Sabrina Terry.

Governor McCrory, a seven-term mayor of Charlotte and a member of Catawba's Board of Trustees since 2005, successfully ran as N.C.'s Republican gubernatorial candidate, defeating Democratic nominee and N.C. Lt. Governor, Walter Dalton, in the Nov. 6 election. He replaced the state's Democratic Governor Beverly Perdue. The last Republican elected as N.C. Governor was James Grubbs "Jim" Martin, who served from 1985 to 1993.


PhotosPHOTOS: Students Participate in Inauguration  

VideoVIDEO: Students Participate in Inauguration  

InfoThe Vernaculars

InfoCatawba Pride Marching Band

InfoMusic Department


« Return to Previous