Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Teacher Education Students Participate in Pinning Ceremony

October 13, 2005

Category: Students, Teacher Education

Twenty-five Catawba College students were honored in a pinning ceremony to mark their admission to the Teacher Education Program held Tuesday, October 11 in Tom Smith Auditorium.   The ceremony was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE) and the Rowan-Salisbury Teacher of the Year for 2005-06, Mr. Terry Sippel, was the guest speaker.

Catawba College Alumna, Janelle Rhodes of Waynesboro, Pa., shared her reflections from a student perspective with those attending.   She graduated from Catawba in May, 2005 with a bachelor of arts degree in elementary education and is currently student teaching at Granite Quarry Elementary School in Granite Quarry.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics; establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average; and an interview.   Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those pinned during the ceremony included Stewart Adams of Laurinburg; Laura Katherine (K.T.) Casner of Salisbury; John Devaney of Neptune, N. J.; Daniel Flack of Mebane; Jessica Hathcock of Landis; Amanda Johnson of Thomasville; Megan Lilly of Kannapolis; Leigh Marcischak of Houston, Pa.; Michelle McCaffrey of New Windsor, N.Y.; Amanda McDaniel of Cleveland; Stephen McKenzie of Springfield, Va.; Jenn Mehl of West Creek, N.J.; Carly Moore of Salisbury; Laura Mowrer of Kannapolis; Amanda Nantz of Troutman; Chris Nesbitt of Colonia, N.J.; Ashley Overcash of Salisbury; Danielle Petrin of Indian Trail, Pa.; Kelly Poole of Salisbury; Amber Rady of Salisbury; Meagan Robinson of Belmont; Erica Tackett of Trinity; and Kyley Thompson of Hagerstown, Md.   Faculty advisors for the SNCAE organization are former North Carolina Teacher of the Year Dr. Cynthia Osterhus and Mrs. Amanda Bosch.

Family members in attendance came from as far away as New Jersey. Students and their guests were invited to a reception in the Delhaize Atrium immediately following the ceremony.

The Teacher Education program at Catawba College recently fared well on the most recent IHE Performance Report, with a 100% pass rate on PRAXIS II examinations reported for program completers.

« Return to Previous