Skip to main content
Login to CatLink
Future Students

Apply online or check the status of your Admissions application:

Admission Portal

Tom Smith Scholarship Recipients Honored at Catawba College

April 14, 2005

Category: Academics, Events, Students

Senior Brandi Berrier of Lexington completed two years and earned an associate’s degree at Davidson County Community College before she was able to transfer to Catawba College for completion of a four-year degree in mathematics.   When she graduates from Catawba next month, she knows she will have Tom and Martha Smith of Salisbury to thank.   It was due to a Tom Smith Scholarship earned through her academic efforts that she was able to attend Catawba.

“For four years in high school, I dreamt of coming to Catawba College,” Berrier recalled.   “I started packing as soon as I received my acceptance letter, then my mom lost her job and I realized I couldn’t afford to come.   I went to community college for two years and then reapplied to Catawba.   I got accepted, but it was the Tom Smith Scholarship which made my attendance possible.”
Berrier was one of 37 Tom Smith Scholarship recipients honored at a luncheon held Thursday, April 14 in the Hurley Room of the Cannon Student Center.   And, she was one of two students who expressed the collective gratitude of her peers to Tom and Martha Smith.   “Without the scholarships, we would not be the people we are today and the people we will become tomorrow,” she said.        

Junior Holly Fesperman of Albemarle also spoke on behalf of her fellow scholars and thanked Tom and Martha Smith for the scholarships they had provided for Catawba students.   Although she was quick to acknowledge that her scholarship helped ease her financial burden, she said it also allowed her to be an integral part of the Catawba College community.   She noted her involvement in the student newspaper, “The Pioneer,” the friendships she had made, and her interactions with her professors.

Catawba College President Dr. Robert Knott told the students that the annual Tom Smith luncheon served two purposes – it was a way to express appreciation to the Smiths for their financial support, and also an opportunity for the students to reflect on why they attend Catawba.

“Most of us tend to live in the past or future,” Knott said.   “But, a good education is only in the present and only involves what you do in the now.”

In concluding remarks, Tom Smith ’64, who also serves as chairman of the Catawba College Board of Trustees, congratulated the students on earning the scholarships that bear his name and offered them a chance to participate in a mock pop quiz, wherein they were assured of making a perfect  

Each student took a turn responding to Smith’s reflective questions which included:   “What made you decide to attend Catawba?” “What do you like about Catawba?” “What are your plans for the summer?” and “What can you do to support Catawba after your graduate?”
In addition to Berrier and Fesperman, other Tom Smith Scholarship recipients include Brandon Bailey of Salisbury; Tanya Blankenship of Cleveland; Forrest Breedlove of Advance; Joseph D. Brooks of Salisbury; Nathaniel T. Brown of Cornelius; Elizabeth F. Corbett of Severn, Md.; Clifton Cox of Winston-Salem; Kenneth Crowe of Reeders, Pa.; Ryan Dayvault of Kannapolis; Shannon Dente of Coral Springs, Fla.; James N. Dozier of Norfolk, Va.; Stacy Dunning of Lexington; Stephani Garrett of Hagerstown, Md.; Christopher Gladden of Salisbury; Melanie Goergmaier of Germany; Marja Hatfield of Winthrop, Maine; Kathryn Hembree of Statesville; Elizabeth Ingle of Salisbury; Amanda Janas of Concord; Christina Jarrell of Salisbury; Kellie Kaiser of Concord; Jacob Krickhan of Hendersonville; Lindsay Layman of Hagerstown, Md.; Zachary Lineberger of Charlotte; Helgi Mar Magnusson of Reykjavik, Iceland; Kathy Manny of Jacksonville, Fl.; Sean Middleton of N. Augusta, S.C.; Keri Reynolds of Kernersville; Allan Rohrbaugh of Lexington; Ross Scallan of Greensboro; Matthew Sheets of Lexington; David Smith of Salisbury; Gerard Smith of Granite Quarry; Nicki Vaughn of Graham; and John Vernon of Walnut Cove.

« Return to Previous